Is my ‘Magical Boost’ trait balanced? [closed]

I want to create a homebrew playable race called Fools. Essentially the idea is court jesters but as a race. They have bright, multicolored skin. I want them to have the abilities of the original Fool character in my short story, but I’m afraid they might be too overpowered and/or unbalanced. I have put the current stat block for Fools in the quotes below.

Language. Fools have a language unique to their race, however, they adopt the most spoken language of their surroundings. You speak Foolish, and any language of your choosing.

I believe this is fine as having the choice of a second language is a common trait.

Alignment. Fools are rule-breakers at their core. They are almost always chaotically aligned. Fools are a very widespread and variable race, having members be good, evil, and everything in between.

Again, I’m very sure about this.

Speed. 25.

Halflings and dwarves have a speed of 25. My fools’ size range matches those of halflings and dwarves, so again, this is good as is.

Size. Any given Fool can range in height from less than three feet tall up to just over five feet.

This plays into Fools being variable. No need for change.

Links to the Arcane. Fools are notorious for their innate ability to sense magic. You get +2 to any perception check regarding magic.

This I’m not so sure about. I certainly want Fools to have some innate link to magic and I feel this ability is a good way to show it.

Ability Score Increase. Your dexterity score increases by 1.

Fools are generally very nimble, so I feel this fits.

Magical Boost. You can move ten feet in any direction on your turn. This is an Action. If you do not use this ability again next turn or end you turn on something, you begin to fall back to the ground five feet per turn.

This is the trait I am least sure about. I’m not sure if I should make it more or less powerful. Or if I should extend the range that they can move on their turn.

Is my race, as it currently is, balanced? What changes should I make? What should I add or remove?

Can a druid Wild-Shaped into a raven speak using the Mimicry trait?

The description of the druid’s Wild Shape feature says, in part (PHB, p. 67):

You can’t cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form.

And the Mimicry trait of a raven says:

The raven can mimic simple sounds it has heard, such as a person whispering, a baby crying, or an animal chittering. A creature that hears the sounds can tell they are imitations with a successful DC 10 Wisdom (Insight) check.

As a druid PC, I’ve heard all the simple sounds that make up a language that I can speak. So, by RAW, can I speak all the languages my character knows while wildshaped in raven form? After all, I do keep my character’s mental abilities when I am in Wild Shape; am I able to mimic sounds well enough to speak?

If so: As slowly or weird-sounding as it may be, would it be clear enough for other people to understand?

How do the Death Ward spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait interact?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a half-orc? Do the effects of the spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait stack?

If so, and you get reduced to 0 HP more than once, can you go back up to 1 HP a second time? Or does only one of them take effect and you can only be brought back to 1 HP once?

My DM thinks the latter.

What is considered an enemy for an Orc’s Aggressive trait?

Volo’s Guide to Monsters says that you may play an Orc character, which gives you the following trait, amongst others (p. 120):

Aggressive. As a bonus action, you can move up to your speed toward an enemy of your choice that you can see or hear.

My question is: what can be considered as an enemy for this trait to apply?

  1. Anything I want
  2. Any living creature, including non-hostile ones
  3. Only creatures that are hostile to me (actual enemies)

For example, can I choose a tree as my enemy, justifying it by a "Me find tree insult my race, me hate tree, me ANGRY!", and then bonus-move toward said tree?

Does the +1 AC bonus from the Warforged racial trait Integrated Protection and the Forge Domain cleric’s Blessings of the Forge stack?

The Warforged race (from Eberron: Rising from the Last War, p. 36) has a racial feature called Integrated Protection, which among other things, grants the following:

  • You gain a +1 bonus to Armor Class

The Forge Domain for the cleric (from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 19) has a class feature called Blessings of the Forge, which grants the following:

At 1st level, you gain the ability to imbue magic into a weapon or armor. At the end of a long rest, you can touch one nonmagical object that is a suit of armor or a simple or martial weapon. Until the end of your next long rest or until you die, the object becomes a magic item, granting a +1 bonus to AC if it’s armor or …

Recently, a player wanted to make a Warforged Forge Domain cleric and wondered if these two features would stack (meaning, the racial +1 stacking with wearing magical armor enchanted via Blessings of the Forge), allowing effectively +2 to AC. Is there any reason this wouldn’t work?

Do monsters with a spellcasting trait get spell slots back after a long rest?

Some monsters, like a lich, have the Spellcasting trait. This trait allows such monsters to cast spells using spell slots, much as spellcaster player characters do.

However, taking the lich as an example, the trait does not mention how spell slots are regained (I’m ignoring their Lair Actions for the purposes of this question). Looking at the general rules on monsters’ Spellcasting trait in the Special Traits section:

Spellcasting

A monster with the Spellcasting class feature has a spellcaster level and spell slots, which it uses to cast its spells of 1st level and higher. The spellcaster level is also used for any cantrips included in the feature.

The monster has a list of spells known or prepared from a specific class. The list might also include spells from a feature in that class, such as the Divine Domain feature of the cleric or the Druid Circle feature of the druid. The monster is considered a member of that class when attuning to or using a magic item that requires membership in the class or access to its spell list.

A monster can cast a spell from its list at a higher level if it has the spell slot to do so. For example, a drow mage with the 3rd-level lightning bolt spell can cast it as a 5th-level spell by using one of its 5th-level spell slots.

You can change the spells that a monster knows or has prepared, replacing any spell on its spell list with a spell of the same level and from the same class list. If you do so, you might cause the monster to be a greater or lesser threat than suggested by its challenge rating.

There is no mention of spells slots coming back on a long rest. Elsewhere in the general rules, this is explicitly mentioned for other traits (such as X/Day traits):

For example, "1/Day" means a special ability can be used once and that the monster must finish a long rest to use it again.

It’s reasonable to assume that monsters with the Spellcasting trait do probably get their spell slots back on a long rest because that’s how it works for PCs, but on the other hand, monsters and PCs don’t necessarily use the same rules. So, does anything explicitly state that monsters with the Spellcasting trait get their spell slots back on a long rest?

How do the physical traits granted by the draconic sorcerer bloodline interact with a changeling’s shapechanger trait?

Sorcerers with the draconic bloodline develop a thin sheen of dragon-like scales and can eventually manifest wings. How does this interact with the changeling’s ability to alter their shape?

For instance:

  • Can they maintain the armor bonus of draconic resilience when they are mimicking a race without scales?
  • Can they manifest wings and then change them to match an Aarakocra or Winged Tiefling while still maintaining their original flight speed?

If a spellcaster’s racial trait grants a spell that requires material components, can they use their class’ focus to cast that spell?

Based on the answer to this question about non-spellcasters, spells granted by racial traits don’t waive the need for material components. However, can spellcasters use their class’ allowed focuses with such spells, or must they still acquire the specific materials (or a component pouch) to cast them?

If the spell is also on their class’ spell list, does that change anything?

How do I calculate d20 success probability using the Halfling ‘lucky’ trait with (dis)advantage?

Here is a comprehensive DPR calculator, and here is the mathematics behind it. I’m trying to follow along with the equations.

At the bottom of the second page are formulas for success probability $ L$ of a Halfling (who has luck) in normal circumstances and with advantage and disadvantage: $ $ L = P + \frac{1}{20}P,$ $ $ $ L_{adv} = P_{adv} + \left(\frac{2}{20}(1 – P) – \frac{1}{400}\right)P,$ $ $ $ L_{dis} = P_{dis} + \frac{2}{20}P^2,$ $ where:

  • $ P$ is the probability of succeeding on any single roll,
  • $ P_{adv} = 1 – (1 – P)^2$ is the probability of succeeding with advantage (not failing both rolls), and
  • $ P_{dis} = P^2$ is the probability of succeeding with disadvantage (succeeding both rolls).

The $ P$ s are quite easy to derive, and $ L$ is just passing outright OR [rolling a 1 AND THEN passing]: $ $ P + \left(\frac{1}{20}*P\right).$ $ But I’m struggling with deriving $ L_{adv}$ and $ L_{dis}$ . Please can someone show a derivation?