What happens to a Wizard’s Transmuter Stone when she dies?

Unfortunately, last monday night our transmuter wizardess met her early (only 160!) demise at the hands (claws) of some elf-hungry trolls.

Her transmuter stone was not on her, because another character borrowed it to get +10 movement and carry an urgent message to the king.

Now, we had to stop the session because there is a time-rift. Either the stone keeps working after her death, or it stops.

If the stone keeps working the runner will press on to the king’s location. But if the stone stopped working, the runner will go back to find the wizardess’ corpse or get in touch with her familiar and then find the corpse. And the runner has enough arcana to know that she died (there is the fact that she could’ve made another stone, but not eight hours had passed).

(…) you can spend 8 hours creating a transmuter’s stone (…) If you create a new transmuter’s stone, the previous one ceases to function.

So, after that not-so-quick exposition, once a transmuter wizard soul departs the body, do the transmuter stone keep working?


Regarding the golden rule, I’m the DM of the game, and I have no idea on how to rule the issue. So I can’t really ask the DM.

Is this proposed change to the Transmutation Wizard’s Master Transmuter class feature balanced for a setting without resurrection? [Version 2]

In my previous iteration of this question, I proposed a replacement for the Master Transmuter option Restore Life. the feedback I received identified that it was too powerful, so I have a new, much simpler proposal. The brief description below outlines the problem; see my other question for a more detailed explanation.


The School of Transmutation wizard archetype has a feature at level 14 called Master Transmuter. It can allow such a wizard to, once per long rest, destroy their transmuter’s stone and do one of a handful of options, one of which is:

Restore Life. You cast the raise dead spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter’s stone, without expending a spell slot or needing to have the spell in your spellbook.

Unfortunately, in my homebrew universe, there is no resurrection magic, so I’m looking into replacing this option with something homebrew that is not related to resurrection, but still at least broadly fits the theme of “Restore Life“.


Still considering greater restoration, I wonder if it would be balanced to simply allow Restore Life to cast it instead of raise dead, a direct trade with no other additions (i.e. not a “super charged” version like I proposed before)?

Restore Life. You cast the greater restoration spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter’s stone, without expending a spell slot or needing to have the spell in your spellbook.

My reasoning behind believing that this might be balanced, in light of the feedback, is a) it’s a 5th level cleric spell like raise dead, and b) it is not usually available to wizards, same as raise dead.

One the other hand, I’m concerned that this might be a bit weaker than the RAW raise dead version of Restore Life (after all, once you’re dead, greater restoration can’t help at all), so if that is true, I’m also considering waiving the costly material component of the greater restoration spell if cast in this way, since it seems you do need it for the raise dead version. If this is not weaker (or waiving the material component would make this vastly more powerful), then I won’t do that.


So my question is, in a setting where there is no resurrection magic, does my new proposed replacement of the Restore Life option of the Master Transmuter class feature seem balanced?
Ideally contrasting with and without my “waive the material costs” suggestion.

Is this proposed tweak to the Transmutation Wizard’s Master Transmuter class feature balanced for a setting without resurrection?

The School of Transmutation wizard archetype has a feature at level 14 called Master Transmuter. It can allow such a wizard to, once per long rest, destroy their transmuter’s stone and do the following:

Restore Life. You cast the raise dead spell on a creature you touch with the transmuter’s stone, without expending a spell slot or needing to have the spell in your spellbook.

Unfortunately, in my homebrew universe, there is no resurrection magic, so I’m looking into replacing this option with something homebrew that is not related to resurrection, but still at least broadly fits the theme of “Restore Life“.

Unlike in my similar question about replacing resurrection related class features, I do actually have a player who has a transmutation wizard (they are currently “retired”, but the player is strongly considering “unretiring” them in the near future, so this character will almost definitely come back at some point and isn’t far off level 14); this player is also strongly in the camp of “resurrection magic cheapens death”, so they are definitely up for replacing this option of the class feature.


Given that it is called “Restore Life“, I considered replacing it with some kind of healing (say, the heal spell), but then noticed another option that the Master Transmuter feature offers:

Panacea. You remove all curses, diseases, and poisons affecting a creature that you touch with the transmuter’s stone. The creature also regains all its hit points.

So healing would look a bit redundant and underwhelming compared to that option.


Finally, I looked towards greater restoration, since a) it’s a 5th level cleric spell like raise dead, and b) Panacea is kind of like a super charged lesser restoration, plus healing. So I have come up with the following (a “super charged greater restoration“):

Restore Life. You end all reductions to all of the target’s ability scores and hit point maximum, and end one effect that imposes the petrified condition on the target.

I’ve not included the greater restoration spell’s removing curses (since I didn’t want overlap with Panacea) or ending charmed effects (because it doesn’t really fit the theme of restoring life). I also haven’t included regaining any hit points because I thought that might be too powerful compared with Panacea if it also healed the target (although I could have it at least restore hit points equal to the reduction of their hit point maximum, if it was reduced at all).


So my question is, in a setting where there is no resurrection magic, does my proposed replacement of the Restore Life option of the Master Transmuter class feature seem balanced, primarily comparing it to the raise dead spell and the Panacea option?

Can you obtain a Transmuter’s Stone if you “morph” into a Transmuter statblock?

Volo’s Guide to Monsters contains a Transmuter statblock, a humanoid of CR 5 with the following trait :

Transmuter’s Stone. The transmuter carries a magic stone it crafted that grants its bearer one of the following effects : Darkvision out of a range of 60 feet, An extra 10 feet of speed while the bearer is unencumbered, Proficiency with Constitution saving throws, Resistance to acid, cold, fire, lightning or thunder damage (transmuter’s choice whenever the transmuter chooses this benefit). If the transmuter has the stone and casts a transmutation spell of 1st level or higher, it can change the effect of the stone.

It is, I believe, possible for a high level caster to “morph” into a Transmuter statblock, either by True Polymorping into it directly, True Polymorphing into a creature that can then Change Shape into it (such as an Ancient Metallic Dragon), or Shapechanging into it.

My question is : if you “morph” into a Transmuter statblock, do you gain access to its Transmuter’s Stone ?

Is a 10th level transmuter considered a shapechanger for the purpose of effects such as Moonbeam?

Spells such as Moonbeam specifically affect creatures with the “Shapechanger” tag, such as lycanthropes. As per this previous question, the ability to change one’s shape through class features is not sufficient to be considered a shapechanger.

However, upon reaching the 10th level, transmutation specialist wizards literally receive the “Shapechanger” class feature, granting them the ability the polymorph themselves with greater ease. This feature’s description is obviously adapted for player characters, but is otherwise similar to the “shapechanger” feature found in the stat blocks of creatures with the shapechanger tag.

In this context, would possessing the “Shapechanger” feature through the wizard class mark you as a “shapechanger” for the purpose of spells such as Moonbeam?