Does Brace trigger when an enemy enters my echo’s reach?

The subclass feature Manifest Echo explicitly covers attacking from the Echo’s location when taking the Attack action or when taking a specific reaction:

  • When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.

  • When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.

My Echo Knight picked the fighting style Superior Technique with the Combat Maneuver Brace. This gives my fighter a new trigger for using a reaction:

When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee weapon you’re wielding, you can use your reaction to expend one superiority die and make one attack against the creature, using that weapon. […]

If I understand correctly, this would mean when an enemy enters my Echo’s reach, it does not trigger Brace, because it isn’t mentioned as possible scenario’s for attack from the Echo’s location. Is this interpretation correct?


Related:

  • Does an Echo Knight fighter's echo provoke an opportunity attack when it moves?
  • Does turning around count as moving for triggering Brace?

I want the game over screen on this super mario bros C++ remake to trigger arduino/batch file

I found a someone who has listed the source code in C++ for their remake of Super Mario and I would like to know how I could edit the code for the "Game over screen" to trigger my Arduino or batch file (which ever is easier). The link to this source code is below. I’m pretty new but am every interested in getting this done. Any information would help. Thank you so much!

Github project link

Does resurrecting a creature killed by the disintegrate spell (or similar) with wish trigger the non-spell replicating penalties of the wish spell?

The first thing that causes me to question this, is the general design of it, which is more of a RAI assessment. From what I can tell, wish’s non-spell replicating punishment is meant to be a limit and punishment to keep players from breaking the game with repeated and frequent uses of wish to reshape the world and break every other rule of the game with a solid mechanical effect that doesn’t put the whole weight of that limitation on the GM’s shoulders.

From this perspective, using wish to resurrect someone killed by a spell that explicitly tells them that they have to use wish (or another 9th level resurrection spell) to resurrect someone is a fully intended system in the game, and thus should not be subjected to wish’s punishment for "trying to break the game"

The RAW argument for the resurrection not triggering the punishment is that, if the person has died within the last 10 days, the spell Reincarnate only requires you touch a piece of them (resurrection does not have the "piece of them" option), which the dust left behind by disintegrate could be argued to be, and the a new body is generated for them. Wish was used to replicate the spell. Therefore you are meeting the requirements of disintegrate (wish) and the requirements of the non-punishing wish (replicating a spell) and the requirements of Reincarnate (touching a piece of the body). So you should not have a chance to lose wish.

The argument for it not working is pretty straight forward. You are casting wish, invoking the text of the disintegrate spell, not replicating a spell of level 8 or less.

Also, this could seem like it is stepping on the toes of True resurrection. However True resurrection has a much longer timeframe, does not change the character’s race, and does not require the party to pick up all the dust if they can’t cast wish before a strong gust of wind picks up. It also only works to counteract disintegrate or other spells with the same effect in the same way that true resurrection does, it does not replace other reasons that true resurrection could be necessary, such as the body being taken out of the party’s reach.

Reincarnate(Relevant):

You touch a dead Humanoid or a piece of a dead Humanoid. Provided that the creature has been dead no longer than 10 days, the spell forms a new adult body for it and then calls the soul to enter that body. If the target’s soul isn’t free or willing to do so, the spell fails.

Wish(Relevant):

The stress of casting this spell to produce any effect other than duplicating another spell weakens you. After enduring that stress, each time you cast a spell until you finish a long rest, you take 1d10 necrotic damage per level of that spell. This damage can’t be reduced or prevented in any way. In addition, your Strength drops to 3, if it isn’t 3 or lower already, for 2d4 days. For each of those days that you spend resting and doing nothing more than light activity, your remaining recovery time decreases by 2 days. Finally, there is a 33 percent chance that you are unable to cast wish ever again if you suffer this stress.

Disintegrate (Relevant):

A disintegrated creature and everything it is wearing and carrying, except Magic Items, are reduced to a pile of fine gray dust. The creature can be restored to life only by means of a True Resurrection or a wish spell.

Personally, if this came up in play, I would not include wish’s punishment due to the first paragraph, however with the benefit of foresight, I am seeking a more informed answer.

Does blocking an attack with the Shield spell still trigger Armor of Agathys?

I am contemplating a Oath of Conquest Paladin / Sorcerer multiclass character, with a 1 level dip in hexblade warlock.

This character will have access to the Armor of Agathys and Shield spells, which potentially allows for a pretty nice combo.

The Shield spell states (PHB 275):

Casting Time: 1 reaction, which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell…

Until the start of your next turn, you have a +5 bonus to AC, including against the triggering attack,

It looks like you are indeed hit by an attack, but since you have a bonus to AC, you can potentially force that attack to miss instead.

Armor of Agathys states (PHB 215),

If a creature hits you with a melee attack while you have these hit points, the creature takes 5 cold damage.

If I cast Shield and cause an attack that "hit" me to miss, does Armor of Agathys still deal damage?

I am leaning toward yes, though this combo seems a little too strong–Shield is already a strong spell, and this character will eventually have 9 1st level spell slots and a 7th level spell slot. Not only can they freely block attacks with Shield, but they can also deal up to 35 (5d10) damage to the attacker without an attack roll or saving throw. While a Warlock would have to spend both of their spell slots to do this once, my character would be able to do this 4 times with spell slots to spare.

Some notes:

  • Related questions ask about reducing the damage from a confirmed hit to zero. This question is asking about what happens when the Shield spell causes the attack to miss entirely.
  • A number of online resources, such as the Roll20 5th edition compendium, seem to be missing the correct casting time for the Shield spell. Answerers should make sure they’re looking at the correct version from the PHB.

Do reactions that trigger on saving throws give knowledge of saving throws that would otherwise be secret?


Preliminaries.

Some reactions have triggers which are tangible events in the fiction of the game. For example, feather fall‘s casting time is:

1 reaction, which you take when you or a creature within 60 feet of you falls.

This is something tangible within the fiction: feather fall’s trigger is something perceived and understood by both the player out of game and the character in game.

On the other hand, some reactions have triggers which are intangible within the fiction of the game: they are perceived only by the player out of game, and do not actually reflect anything about the character’s knowledge in game. For example, the Artificer’s Flash of Genius ability says:

When you or another creature you can see within 30 feet of you makes an ability check or a saving throw, you can use your reaction to add your Intelligence modifier to the roll.

Another example is the Oath of the Watchers Paladin’s Vigilant Rebuke ability:

You’ve learned how to chastise anyone who dares wield beguilements against you and your wards. Whenever you or a creature you can see within 30 feet of you succeeds on an Intelligence, a Wisdom, or a Charisma saving throw, you can use your reaction to deal 2d8 + your Charisma modifier force damage to the creature that forced the saving throw.

Both of these abilities allow the character to take a reaction in response to another character making a saving throw.

But passing, failing, or even attempting a saving throw are not something characters know about. Characters don’t even know what saving throws are. These two questions discuss this:

  • In 5e, are saving throw results detected by the opposing party?
  • Do characters know if someone else, who they can see, has failed a saving throw?

The Scenario.

Suppose the evil Archmage casts scrying on one of our party members, in an attempt to secretly spy on them. Scrying calls for a wisdom saving throw. The party would normally have no idea this was going, no idea someone was making a saving throw, and no idea if that saving throw succeeded or failed.

But what if we have an Artificer or Watchers Paladin around?

Rules as written the artificer or paladin would be able to use their respective reactions in response to the saving throw for the Archmage’s scrying.

Do the artificer and paladin characters know in game that they used their abilities in response to the saving throw against the scrying spell?

Obviously, they don’t know what a saving throw is, and won’t know that it is a scrying spell at work. But do they know that something is afoot and that they used their ability?

Can reaction spells be cast without any trigger?

I’ve come across a few questions regarding the spell storing ring to which my question matters. Under spell storing ring it reads:

Any creature can Cast a Spell of 1st through 5th Level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no Effect, other than to be stored in the ring.

So to store a spell in the ring you cast the spell. Shield or absorb elements have a casting time of a reaction, can they be cast without a trigger? In particular, in our game the need came up to store reaction spells mid-combat. But the casting time of these spells is a reaction, so the question came up can you use your reaction without a trigger?

Under rules for spellcasting there are 3 blocks that give some guidance on casting time:

Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell’s name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. The rest of a spell entry describes the spell’s effect.

Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.

Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.

Rules for combat has this:

Certain Special Abilities, Spells, and situations allow you to take a Special action called a Reaction. A Reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on Your Turn or on someone else’s.

Combining these, we know that the spell block contains the casting time, these spells have a casting time of "1 reaction". We know these spells take a fraction of a second to bring about so they are fast, it seems requiring an action or bonus action for it to be cast is unwarranted. However, it also says if a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so. Furthermore "a reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind."

Does this mean you can’t cast a reaction spell without the trigger? Does this imply that you have to get hit to store the shield spell into the ring?

Can a mage cast shield or absorb elements without getting hit or receiving elemental damage? If so, when can they take their reaction to store the spell in the ring, I’d presume it would have to be their own turn (using their reaction just to store the spell), but can they react to nothing off turn to store the spell?

In case a trigger for a readied action is someone else’s reaction, what is resolved first?

I asked this question. The answer is YES.

But I’m still not sure – in such a case (i.e. a trigger for reaction being another reaction) – which reaction is resolved first, the triggered one or the triggering one?

Does the readied action interrupt someone else’s reaction that triggered it? Is there a possibility of a chain of such consecutively triggering and consecutively interrupted reactions?

Can you Ready an action with someone’s reaction as a trigger?

The rule for readied action says:

First, you decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction.

Of course, it’s rather hard to be ready for someone’s else reactions, especially first-met enemies. I’m also aware that what got me thinking about this (the trigger being someone’s attack of opportunity) is very much a meta-thinking (I, as a player, can be well aware of what actions will always trigger AoO’s. Characters in game – not so much). However, I didn’t see anybody asking this question, so what do you think?

Here’s a specific example: a wizard readies a Magic Missile with a trigger "when my familiar gets attacked" and then on the familiar’s turn it sends it within 5ft. of an enemy to do a Help action, and then moves it out of the enemy’s melee reach, which will in turn trigger an AoO, hence a triggering attack.

Also, I saw this answer, but it doesn’t answer my question.

Do bonus actions trigger the save from an Internal Injury?

One of the possible injuries from the optional "Lingering Injuries" table in the DMG is Internal Injury:

Internal Injury. Whenever you attempt an action in combat, you must make a DC 15 Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, you lose your action and can’t use reactions until the start of your next turn. The injury heals if you receive magical healing or if you spend ten days doing nothing but resting.

When suffering from an Internal Injury, do you have to make this saving throw when attempting a bonus action in combat, or just when attempting normal actions?