If you cast a higher-level spell from a spell scroll with a casting time of 1 action, but fail the check, can you cast a bonus-action spell that turn?

The bonus-action spellcasting rule states (PHB p. 202):

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

The description of a spell scroll states (DMG p. 200):

If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + spell’s level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect.

If you fail the check to cast the higher-level spell via the scroll, does the spell count as being cast despite there being no effect?

This question is very similar to this one – If a spell cast from a Spell Scroll is Counterspelled, is the scroll consumed? – but I am not sure if the answers in that question apply to this situation as well.

Do you take damage if you start your turn in the square of a blade barrier?

The spell blade barrier reads

If you evoke the barrier so that it appears where creatures are, each creature takes damage as if passing through the wall. Each such creature can avoid the wall (ending up on the side of its choice) and thus take no damage by making a successful Reflex save. (PHB p. 205)

In case a creature does not make the save, does it take damage for “passing” through the wall in it turrn?

How can i turn this xml injection into a valid XXE?

I was testing the website example.com and found a form vulnerable to XML Injection. It send the details you insert into that form as xml attachment via email to my email address and also to administrators CMS as email. It works with XSS but my question is, can this also work with XXE? and if yes, what xml code can i inject to achieve to demonstrate the presence of XXE?

The injection point is the following

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?> <content> <firstname>Injection-Point</firstname> <lastname>Test</lastname> <telephone>75674874844</telephone> <state>TT</state> <countryInput></countryInput> <method>Email</method> <authorised>Yes</authorised> <privacy>yes</privacy> </content>

The injection is occurring in <firstname> tag. Can this be turned into a good XXE?

Can you move the Hunter’s Mark spell on the same turn that the affected creature dies?

The hunter’s mark (and also hex) spell contains the following text:

[…] If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to mark a new creature […]

Does this passage prevent the following scenario:

  1. Cast hunter’s mark on somebody
  2. Your turn ends
  3. Another one of your turn’s begins
  4. You kill the targeted creature
  5. You place hunter’s mark onto a new target as a bonus action

Is step 5 in the above prevented from working due to the wording of the hunter’s mark spell? It seems like it would be to me, but perhaps I’ve missed something somewhere.

Can a caster end the spell Delayed Blast Fireball immediately after the turn they cast it? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • When exactly can a caster stop concentrating on a spell? 4 answers

The spell Delayed Blast Fireball states:

A beam of yellow light flashes from your pointing finger, then condenses to linger at a chosen point within range as a glowing bead for the duration. When the spell ends, either because your concentration is broken or because you decide to end it, the bead blossoms with a low roar into an explosion of flame that spreads around corners. Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes fire damage equal to the total accumulated damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

The spell’s base damage is 12d6. If at the end of your turn the bead has not yet detonated, the damage increases by 1d6.

According to the concentration rules of The Rules of Magic (emphasis mine):

You can end concentration at any time (no action required).

Is it possible for a caster to cast Delayed Blast Fireball on their turn, end their turn (increasing the damage by a d6 by doing so), and immediately end the spell during the start of the next creature in the initiative order’s turn?

What’s the most amount of attacks that can be done per turn with barbarian as a base

I’m thinking about dming my first 5e campaign (I’ve dmed one pathfinder oneoff in the past) and well a player of mine was thinking about playing a female orc barbarian that specializes in as many attacks in one turn as possible. I was thinking about reccommending a mix of barbarian and monk to make use of the flurry of blows from monk, but I’m not quite sure, so if y’all can help I’d really appreciate it.

How does one make a barbarian with the most amount of attacks per turn?

Can ‘Bestow Curse’ (3rd lvl spell) turn any creature into a humanoid? [on hold]

Can a ‘curse’ or ‘polymorph’ transform any creature into a humanoid?


In Volo’s Guide: a note suggests a ‘curse’ can turn someone (?) into another humanoid:

Volo’s Guide / table ‘Monstrous Origin’ (p. 118) says:

“2/ You are the victim of a Curse or Polymorph spell.” (italics by author)

Mr. Geddarm’s book suggests that one could become a so-called ‘monstrous’ / let’s not judge playable (N)PC via either of these two source-spells. Note: Volothamp is portrayed as an unreliable source (guest writer ‘Elminster Aumar’ expands on this) / arguably not RAW.

Let us briefly explore each spell type below:


Bestow Curse (abridged):

“At the GM’s option, you may choose an alternative curse effect, but it should be no more powerful than those described above. The GM has final say on such a curse’s effect.”

This suggests Bestow Curse can do virtually anything, so long as it impacts the recipient less than the listed curse set. This leeway is explicitly subject to table rulings / under DM discretion.


Polymorph (abridged):

“The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s.”

This should simply NOT work. Though one can argue that the classification of mammal obviously applies to most beasts and most humanoids, 5e D&D is unique in that humanoids are NOT viable / selectable end-forms with this 4th level spell (no other edition had this limitation-severity). Note: this DOES work with the more powerful True Polymorph spell – especially if concentration is held for an hour. At 9th lvl, is not an abuse of RAW, RAI or RAF.

Let us assume that the author(s) of Volo’s Guide meant True Polymorph / kept it simple &/or elegant.


**Can ‘Bestow Curse’ (spell) alter one’s form / three interpretations:

1/ Rule of Cool: Why not? This racial modification is far less grievous, arduous &/or impactful than any of the other listed Cursed possibilities in the PhB (q.v. Basic Rules, pg. 218). Cursed race-change = ‘modify your character’s abilities &/or innate magical powers appropriately’.

2/ Against R.A.I.: A 3rd level spell (‘Bestow Curse’) CANNOT out-perform a 4th level spell (‘Polymorph’). So deeply abusable! A variant human paladin gains long-range Darkvision, more strength – and easily overtakes an entire orc tribe! Not a ‘curse’ at all, is it? Bestowing this ‘curse’ on a rabbit and making a pop-up elven ally is also right out of the question (‘This curséd rabbit is our archer… and also does our cooking and cleaning! Poor thing.’).

3/ Some R.A.W. blending: Possibly give slight change in mass and appearance – and nothing else. Thus, the aforementioned vuman paladin would look a bit like an orc but be the same size-weight (NPC orc: ‘Hm. You thin. Comrade orc, eat this sand-witch!’), yet not gain any magical or racial abilities. Logically this must NOT not work on rabbits… or Purple Worms… or anything that did not start as a living-breathing humanoid in the first place.

The main problem with this third ruling: some racial abilities are amazing curses (arguably the point of said spell &/or Volo’s RAW option). Example: Drow sunlight-blindness IS a curse – with bonus universal hatred for any UnderElf that isn’t Drizzt. Second example: a PC that looks, smells, sounds and walks as a zombie (no other disadvantages) is a fantastic curse – both story-wise and 5e D&D thematically (especially if the PC goes to town unaware / cannot see his or her appearance).

Basic question / sum up: If ‘Bestow Curse’ spell transforms any creature into a humanoid of the caster’s choosing (on failed save) – how does any self respecting DM keep power-balance &/or player abuse-ability in RAW-check?

Can ‘Bestow Curse’ (3rd lvl spell) turn any creature into a humanoid? [on hold]

Can a ‘curse’ or ‘polymorph’ transform any creature into a humanoid?


In Volo’s Guide: a note suggests a ‘curse’ can turn someone (?) into another humanoid:

Volo’s Guide / table ‘Monstrous Origin’ (p. 118) says:

“2/ You are the victim of a Curse or Polymorph spell.” (italics by author)

Mr. Geddarm’s book suggests that one could become a so-called ‘monstrous’ / let’s not judge playable (N)PC via either of these two source-spells. Note: Volothamp is portrayed as an unreliable source (guest writer ‘Elminster Aumar’ expands on this) / arguably not RAW.

Let us briefly explore each spell type below:


Bestow Curse (abridged):

“At the GM’s option, you may choose an alternative curse effect, but it should be no more powerful than those described above. The GM has final say on such a curse’s effect.”

This suggests Bestow Curse can do virtually anything, so long as it impacts the recipient less than the listed curse set. This leeway is explicitly subject to table rulings / under DM discretion.


Polymorph (abridged):

“The new form can be any beast whose challenge rating is equal to or less than the target’s.”

This should simply NOT work. Though one can argue that the classification of mammal obviously applies to most beasts and most humanoids, 5e D&D is unique in that humanoids are NOT viable / selectable end-forms with this 4th level spell (no other edition had this limitation-severity). Note: this DOES work with the more powerful True Polymorph spell – especially if concentration is held for an hour. At 9th lvl, is not an abuse of RAW, RAI or RAF.

Let us assume that the author(s) of Volo’s Guide meant True Polymorph / kept it simple &/or elegant.


**Can ‘Bestow Curse’ (spell) alter one’s form / three interpretations:

1/ Rule of Cool: Why not? This racial modification is far less grievous, arduous &/or impactful than any of the other listed Cursed possibilities in the PhB (q.v. Basic Rules, pg. 218). Cursed race-change = ‘modify your character’s abilities &/or innate magical powers appropriately’.

2/ Against R.A.I.: A 3rd level spell (‘Bestow Curse’) CANNOT out-perform a 4th level spell (‘Polymorph’). So deeply abusable! A variant human paladin gains long-range Darkvision, more strength – and easily overtakes an entire orc tribe! Not a ‘curse’ at all, is it? Bestowing this ‘curse’ on a rabbit and making a pop-up elven ally is also right out of the question (‘This curséd rabbit is our archer… and also does our cooking and cleaning! Poor thing.’).

3/ Some R.A.W. blending: Possibly give slight change in mass and appearance – and nothing else. Thus, the aforementioned vuman paladin would look a bit like an orc but be the same size-weight (NPC orc: ‘Hm. You thin. Comrade orc, eat this sand-witch!’), yet not gain any magical or racial abilities. Logically this must NOT not work on rabbits… or Purple Worms… or anything that did not start as a living-breathing humanoid in the first place.

The main problem with this third ruling: some racial abilities are amazing curses (arguably the point of said spell &/or Volo’s RAW option). Example: Drow sunlight-blindness IS a curse – with bonus universal hatred for any UnderElf that isn’t Drizzt. Second example: a PC that looks, smells, sounds and walks as a zombie (no other disadvantages) is a fantastic curse – both story-wise and 5e D&D thematically (especially if the PC goes to town unaware / cannot see his or her appearance).

Basic question / sum up: If ‘Bestow Curse’ spell transforms any creature into a humanoid of the caster’s choosing (on failed save) – how does any self respecting DM keep power-balance &/or player abuse-ability in RAW-check?