The College of Glamour bard’s Unbreakable Majesty feature (XGE, p. 14-15) has a similar effect to the sanctuary spell, although it requires a Charisma save instead of a Wisdom save.
If someone attacks a creature under the effects of both, does the attacker need to make both saves?
In Adventurers League play, it is possible to find a “Shadowneedle” (Unbreakable arrow), which has this special text :
One of twenty unbreakable arrows crafted with Shadowsong [A flavored Oathbow that could be found in Adventurers League play in the past, and is still tradeable today], when this arrow is nocked onto the Oathbow and leveled at an opponent, a gentle hum fills the wielder’s mind, steadying their hand and steeling their focus (this feature has no mechanical effect). When [the Shadowneedle is] fired from Shadowsong, the wielder may say the words “Needles, return to your thread” to make this arrow (and any other in its set loosed from the wielder’s hand) reappear in the wielder’s quiver.
However, ammunition are apparently considered as Consumables in general, and the Dungeon Master’s Guide has a section on such items :
Some items are used up when they are activated. A potion or an elixir must be swallowed, or an oil applied to the body. The writing vanishes from a scroll when it is read. Once used, a consumable item loses its magic.
Does that mean that a Shadowneedle, even when shot from Shadowsong, loses its magical properties and thus won’t fly back when the words are spoken ? Or am I (hopefully) missing something, making the “reappearing” property of the Shadowneedle function properly ?
Situation: I’m currently playing in CtL 2E at the moment and working out a Huntsman designed to challenge the local combat monster, a magic swordsman. The hunter wears cold iron plate mail,* which offers 4/2 armor, and he also has the Unbreakable Dread Power (p. 256). The power reads as-follows:
“The hobgoblin is nearly indestructible. Any attack that does not score an exceptional success inflicts only a single point of bashing damage. Exceptional successes inflict damage as normal. Attacks incorporating iron or another of the goblin’s frailties bypass this power.”
On page 148 of the Chronicles of Darkness 2E rulebook, the exact Dread Power is listed for Horrors, though with the description altered slightly to be more generic. I listed it in the tags for that purpose, as this is an important question for Horrors, too.
- (No, I don’t hold a grudge against him. It was his idea, actually. He wanted a problem that can’t be solved with brute force.)