What happen if a Twilight Domain Cleric that shared his darkvision becomes unconscious or die?

The Eyes of Night feature from the Twilight Domain Cleric, introduced in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything pg. 34, grants darkvision to the cleric:

You can see through the deepest gloom. You have darkvision out to a range of 300 feet.

It also allows the cleric to share this darkvision with willing creatures:

As an action, you can magically share the darkvision of this feature with willing creatures you can see within 10 feet of you, up to a number of creatures equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of one creature). The shared darkvision lasts for 1 hour. […]

But the description of the feature does not state what would happen if the cleric becomes unconcious or die, only state that it last for 1 hour. I can think of some interpretations for those cenarios:

  1. The cleric already used his action to share his darkvision, so he does not need to do anything and the sharing will last for the duration, regardless of what happen to the cleric.
  2. Since it is your (the cleric) darkvision, if the creatures goes unconscious that creature still have the darkvision and the feature, so it’s still shared. But if it died, a corpse does not have such a feature, so the sharing it’s cutted off.
  3. An unconcious creature cannot use it’s features, so, even though the cleric shared when he was conscious, once he becomes unconscious the sharing is canceled. Naturally, the same goes in the case if he dies.

Personally I think the second scenario it’s the more appropriate, but I’m not absolutely sure.

Is there any official rule that could help to determine what would happen in this cases?

Healing an unconscious player and the hitpoints they regain

I was told by a previous DM that if you heal a player who is unconscious and rolling for death saves each turn, that regardless off how much hit points the heal would heal them for, they are only brought back up to 1 hp (unless they’ve been stabilized by, say, spare the dying). Is this true or not and is anyone able to give a source for it?

Does Leveling Up Heal Unconscious Characters? [duplicate]

A character in my group ran into a funny situation where his character fell unconscious but the other characters eliminated monsters, which caused them to level up. When a character levels up, they gain the new hit points added to their max.

My question is would the unconscious character gain these new hit points and gain consciousness?

Can an unconscious person drink a potion?

PHB 153 reads:

Potion of Healing. A character who drinks the magical red fluid in this vial regains 2d4 + 2 hit points. Drinking or administering a potion takes an action.

By my interpretation, this means that while the rules are flexible in regards to who has to spend the action, they are inflexible in that a character must still actually drink the potion. In other words, any character can administer a potion to save someone else’s action, but their target must be conscious and able to drink.

I know part of a DM’s job is to apply common sense to my rulings, and common sense tells me that an unconscious person is more likely to choke to death than to swallow 4oz of liquid.

A few of my players disagree. Who’s right in this situation?

Does an unconscious creature still use its dexterity to avoid attacks?

Related – How does one dispatch a helpless opponent?

Here’s the unconscious condition description:

Unconscious

An unconscious creature is Incapacitated, can’t move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings The creature drops whatever it’s holding and falls Prone. The creature automatically fails Strength and Dexterity saving throws. Attack rolls against the creature have advantage. Any attack that hits the creature is a critical hit if the attacker is within 5 feet of the creature.

So attacks against the creature have advantage, and any attack that hits is a critical – but you still can miss because of the creature’s AC. Armor Class includes dexterity bonus. The description doesn’t say the creature’s AC changes somehow.

Does it mean the creature still benefits from its dexterity, both in terms of mechanics and in-game world?

An example situation

A low-level party of Barbarian and Bard fights a sneaky thief, who has AC of 15 due to his +4 dexterity bonus. The Barbarian attacks, so does the Bard, but their results are 12 and 13. DM described that the thief was twisty enough to dodge both attacks.

Next round, the Bard puts the thief to sleep (hence, unconscious) with the Sleep spell. The barbarian makes a melee attack with advantage, but his best result is 14. It is still a miss, isn’t it? As a DM, how can I plausibly describe such an outcome?

What happens when an unconscious creature fails their saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail?

A Banshee (MM, p. 23) has the Wail action:

Wail (1/Day). The banshee releases a mournful wail, provided that she isn’t in sunlight. This wail has no effect on constructs and undead. All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failure, a creature drops to 0 hit points. On a success, a creature takes 10 (3d6) psychic damage.

If someone was already at 0 hit points (for example, having failed their saving throw against a different Banshee’s Wail), what would happen if they fail their saving throw against this Banshee’s Wail (assuming they still need to make a saving throw)?

  • The unconscious creature takes one step towards death, as though they took damage (thus making the saving throw meaningless, since they’d take a step towards death either way);
  • The unconscious creature just dies (unlikely, but in case there’s something written that would imply this hidden in the rules somewhere);
  • Nothing, since this isn’t damage, its just an effect (meaning the unconscious creature would be better off failing this save than passing in this case!)
  • Something else…

Does Disguise Self end if the caster falls unconscious?

In one of my groups, I play a squishy sorcerer focused on deception, including having a number of false identities. Last week, we were infiltrating an enemy’s base and my sorcerer used disguise self to look like she belonged.

The session had to end in the middle of the infiltration, but afterwards we were discussing what could already be going wrong. One possibility that was tossed around was the possibility of the sorcerer getting knocked unconscious, either through spells or through simply having very few hit points.

This led to us trying to figure out whether disguise self ends when the caster is unconscious. I know alter self would end, because it is a concentration spell, but would disguise self?

(I asked about this in chat a while ago but went looking for a q&a on this site about it and found none, so I wrote one.)

If you’re unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

In the PHB, it says that three death saving throw failures means you die; taking any damage causes 1 failure, and a critical hit causes 2 failures. But the unconscious condition says that attacks against an unconscious character have advantage and auto-crit if they’re within 5 feet.

That seems really tough — it almost guarantees that you’ll die if hit twice if one is melee, and on top of that if you’re hit once and not stabilized on your next turn you have a 45% chance of getting your third failure from the saving throw.

Am I correctly reading the rules? If you’re unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

Does Evasion allow half damage even when unconscious?

Evasion is a class feature gained by Rogues and Monks at level 7:

At 7th level, your instinctive agility lets you dodge out of the way of certain area effects, such as a blue dragon’s lightning breath or a Fireball spell. When you are subjected to an effect that allows you to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you instead take no damage if you succeed on the saving throw, and only half damage if you fail.

Does this feature allow a character to “dodge” area effects, taking half damage, even if they are unconscious?

Do the effects of a Potion of Speed or Potion of Heroism disappear if the character becomes unconscious?

Pretty much as the title states.

If a player is under the effect of a potion of speed

When you drink this potion, you gain the Effect of the haste spell for 1 minute (no Concentration required). The potion’s yellow fluid is streaked with black and swirls on its own.

or a Potion of Heroism

For 1 hour after drinking it, you gain 10 Temporary Hit Points that last for 1 hour. For the same Duration, you are under the Effect of the bless spell (no Concentration required). This blue potion bubbles and steams as if boiling.

Do those effects wear off if the play is reduced to 0 hit points and becomes unconscious before the 1 hour duration?