Do potions affect undead?

Do potions affect undead?

Specifically, I am looking at whether a zombie ettin can benefit from Amaranth Elixir (from the Shackled City adventure path), which provides an enhancement bonus to strength and damages wisdom. However, I plan to treat Amaranth Elixir as a potion, so I think this question generalizes.

I can’t quickly find anything suggesting that undead aren’t subject to potions, but I have an unshakable intuition that this shouldn’t work…

How can an Undead Necromancer make other Humanoids detect as Evil Undead?

I am planning an encounter in which a cabal of evil undead necromancers fortify inside an important building with some commoner hostages, disguising the commoners in the same clothes as them to dissuade random attacking and force negotiations.

This tactic could easily be defeated by spells such as detect evil or detect undead, so how (if they could) would the necromancers protect against such common spells? What kind of contingencies would they prepare for such tactics?

Can any corpse become undead?

The shabti are the only race I know of which seem to have a built in defense against becoming undead. But dont they become corpses once they die and lose all their abilities, thus becoming able to be raised?

I know animate dead has some restrictions like must have a skeleton to become a skeleton, and create undead has its own requirements for creating those undead. But is there anything from creating an undead zombie out of an elemental that has been called, gated, or anything but summoned?

Immune to Undeath (1 RP): Shabti can’t become undead. Spells and abilities that would transform a shabti into an undead creature have no effect.

The shabti thing is not the focus of my question, its creating elemental undead. I thought some exist, but I havent been able to find any examples of an elemental undead, or constructs that have been turned into undead, not to be confused with a undead construct.

Can a corpse possessed by a Dybbuk be turned via Turn Undead?

Will Turn Undead work on a corpse possessed by a Dybbuk (a demon listed in Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes, p. 132)?

Background: I thought yes, as the creature is a raised corpse, an undead. However I was just listening to a podcast where the party faced a corpse possessed by a Dybbuk. The DM ruled (very convinced and prepared) that turn undead could not turn the creature. As far as I understood the argument, it’s because it is actually the Dybbuk acting, which is not undead. While the DM can of course rule whatever he wants, it also makes sense to me. What would happen RAW? And if there is any RAI statements like tweets on it, that would also be nice to know.

Undead under Undead Anatomy

If a Lich, Vampire, or some other undead casts Undead Anatomy on itself, does the spells effect hold true?

In this form, you detect as an undead creature (such as with detect undead, but not with magic that reveals your true form, such as true seeing) and are treated as undead for the purposes of channeled energy, cure spells, and inflict spells, but not for other effects that specifically target or react differently to undead (such as searing light).

Cleric and mystic theurge class level for command undead

I am playing a cleric/wizard/mystic theurge. I have the feat command undead.

The feat specifically mentions cleric level, not cleric caster level, in relations to the the DC of the ability and number of undead it allows you to control.

My understanding is that mystic theurge only increases your spell casting, that is spell level, spells per day, and caster level. No other aspects of the class are increased. So channel energy for instance does not increase in power either.

Am I correct in that MT does not increase the cleric level for command undead feat?

Is a creature’s bonus action available while affected by Turn Undead?

There are a few features like Turn Undead which state:

A turned creature […] also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that prevents it from moving. If there’s nowhere to move, the creature can use the Dodge action.

It seems like this effectively removes a creature’s reaction and action, but it never says anything about its bonus action. Does this mean that a creature affected by Turn Undead still has its bonus action available for use?

How do the Haste spell and Turn Undead interact?

There are a few features like Turn Undead which state:

A turned creature […] also can’t take reactions. For its action, it can use only the Dash action or try to escape from an effect that prevents it from moving. If there’s nowhere to move, the creature can use the Dodge action.

The haste spell states:

Until the spell ends, the target […] gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon Attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.

I’m wondering what all “for its action” includes:
Does the Turn Undead feature require to use your “normal action” to take the Dash action? Can you use the action granted by haste instead of your “normal action”? Perhaps Turn Undead requires both of your actions to be used to take the Dash action?

One reason this matters is if you can make multiple attacks with the Attack action, you would want to take the Dash action using your “haste action” and then take the Attack action using your “normal action”.

Does a Mace of Disruption’s Frightened effect override undead immunity to the Frightened condition?

Mace of Disruption states:

When you hit a fiend or an Undead with this Magic Weapon […] If the target has 25 Hit Points or fewer after taking this damage, it must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be destroyed. On a successful save, the creature becomes Frightened of you until the end of your next turn.

Some undead are immune to the Frightened condition. Does the Mace override that immunity? Or does it only cause Frightened in those undead which are not immune to the condition?