Would the Gust spell be able to move someone under the effect of the Levitate spell?

I am playing an air genasi storm sorcerer. Air genasi have the Mingle with the Wind racial trait, which lets them cast the levitate spell once per long rest (with no material components).

The description of the levitate spell says:

One creature or object of your choice that you can see within range rises vertically, up to 20 feet, and remains suspended there for the duration. The spell can levitate a target that weighs up to 500 pounds. An unwilling creature that succeeds on a Constitution saving throw is unaffected.

The target can move only by pushing or pulling against a fixed object or surface within reach (such as a wall or a ceiling), which allows it to move as if it were climbing. You can change the target’s altitude by up to 20 feet in either direction on your turn. If you are the target, you can move up or down as part of your move. Otherwise, you can use your action to move the target, which must remain within the spell’s range.

The description of gust states:

You seize the air and compel it to create one of the following effects at a point you can see within range:

  • One Medium or smaller creature that you choose must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be pushed up to 5 feet away from you.

  • You create a small blast of air capable of moving one object that is neither held nor carried and that weighs no more than 5 pounds. The object is pushed up to 10 feet away from you. It isn’t pushed with enough force to cause damage.

  • You create a harmless sensory affect using air, such as causing leaves to rustle, wind to slam shutters shut, or your clothing to ripple in a breeze.

I wanted to use the gust cantrip to move myself 5 feet in a direction, but my GM said it wouldn’t work, as levitate only allows the target to move by physical means as the spell states, and I couldn’t cast gust to target myself anyways.

I didn’t argue at the time, but having reread the spells, I’m not sure why it wouldn’t work.

Is it possible to cast levitate on yourself, then use gust to move yourself 5 feet?

Protection from Evil cast on a player who’s already under a Charm Person spell?

I’m currently playing a D&D 3.5 campaign and in our last session our fighter has fallen under a Charm Person spell cast by an evil enemy spellcaster. My character is a Cleric and has access to both Protection from Evil and Magic Circle against Evil. If I cast the former upon the figher, or the other one so that the fighter is included in the affected area, what happens? I’m not sure how to interpret the spell’s description. From the PHB (emphasis mine):

The barrier blocks any attempt to possess the warded creature (by a magic jar attack, for example) or to exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment (charm) effects and enchantment (compulsion) effects that grant the caster ongoing control over the subject, such as dominate person). The protection does not prevent such effects from targeting the protected creature, but it suppresses the effect for the duration of the protection from evil effect.

Therefore, it seems that once the spell is cast the target becomes immune to the mental influence of the evil entity. However, the spell description also says that (emphasis mine)

If the protection from evil effect ends before the effect granting mental control does, the would-be controller would then be able to mentally command the controlled creature. Likewise, the barrier keeps out a possessing life force but does not expel one if it is in place before the spell is cast.

It is clear that the spell does not nullify Charm Person, but the controller seems (at least) to be unable to give orders to the targeted creature. What about the order given before Protection from Evil is cast? There are three possible interpretations:

  1. Nothing happens, as the target was already Charmed before;
  2. The creature is still Charmed but the evil guy cannot give new orders (as Protection suppresses the effects of Charme);
  3. Charme Person is stopped for the duration of the Protection spell, and my fighter is free to act as he pleases.

Thank you for your input!

How can I determine the rolling curve of this roll under system?


The system

  • The system relies on Traits and Skills (which both range from 0 to 6).
  • Players rolls a number of d6 equal to the Skill they’re using.
  • Any dice result equal or under the related Trait value is considered a success.

Example : Bob attacks an orc. He has a Melee Skill of 3 and a Strength Trait of 4. He rolls 3d6 and the results are: 2 5 3. He has 2 successes.

Special cases

  • The result of a dice is 1, the dice counts as 2 successes.

Example : Bob attacks again. He still rolls 3d6 and the results are: 1 3 6. He has 3 successes.

  • The character does not have the required Skill, he rolls 1d6, only a result of 1 counts as 1 success (instead of 2), other values are failures.

Example : Bob tries to parry. Since he does not have the Parry skill, he rolls 1d6 and the result is a 2. He fails.

My questions

How can I make sure that progression is "coherent"?

How are highly skilled characters better than those with good Traits? Is the last assumption even correct?

What would the success curve (skill over trait over difficulty) look like?

I’ve tried various things over excel and anydice but cannot comprehend the statistics or get formulas to work.

Finally, sorry for any grammar mistake, english is not my first language and thanks for the help.

Prevent search engines from crawling and indexing all domains and subdomains set up under an Apache server

My company is renting a CentOS server, with one main domain and ~30 subdomains (the number varies, but it’s usually around 30) hosted on it. The subdomains themselves are used for various purposes (mostly development), and are usually deleted once they outlive their use.

Recently it has come to our attention that some of the search engines have indexed some of our defunct and some of our active subdomains.

What would be the best way of preventing search engines and crawlers from crawling and indexing the main site and its subdomains?

I am aware that it’s possible to create a robots.txt file with noindex, nofollow, etc directives, but I’d like to avoid it, if possible (going through ~30 subdomains, setting up a new robots.txt when a new subdomain is created, etc).

I’m also aware that it’s possible to use:

<IfModule mod_headers.c>   Header set X-Robots-Tag "noindex, noarchive, nosnippet, nofollow, noodp, noydir" </IfModule> 

in .htaccess. What I’m unsure of is whether I could place this directive inside of main domain’s .htaccess, in hopes of preventing crawling for both the main domain and its subdomains.

Is there a better way of doing this? I’ve come across a StackOverflow answer that Alias can be used in httpd.conf for robots.txt. Can this be used for .htaccess as well?

Google Tag Assistant Difficult to fire checkout-tag + What do the words under Summary represent?

I wanted to fire my Facebook Pixel for Initiate Checkouts, however I noticed that I have 2 checkouts that are being loaded with exactly the same variables and data layer. This causes the Pixel to fire twice which I do not want. I don’t really know how you can call the words below summary and what it exactly refers to (I think it is parts of the website that is being loaded) but here is a picture:

enter image description here

So my questions are:

  1. What exactly are checkoutOption, Window Loaded, DOM Ready, checkout, etc.?
  2. Is there a possibility to change or remove them completely? (In my case I would like to remove the double checkout)
  3. What is the best way for me to fire the pixel only once?

May I link to SRD in a document under OGL?

I am writing a house rules document for a Pathfinder game. Not publishing it would be a pity, and not using OGL to publish it likewise, since publishing the house rules under OGL allows others to use the same content.

Can I add links to various SRDs in the document?

For example, if I link to the website of Paizo, the link might be http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/coreRulebook/gettingStarted.html. The link contains the word paizo, which is designated as product identity in Paizo’s SRD. I suspect that this is also the case with SRDs maintained by third parties.

Quoting or not quoting text from other OGL content

Currently I do not quote any text from any other OGL publication (aside from the license text). Later, I may quote such material, which would make it necessary for me to attribute the text to its proper source. Suppose the source is a Pathfinder product (and the quoted text is open content). Does this change the answer to the first question?

Content of the document

The document has content such as: “Player may choose zero or one traits for the character, or two traits and one drawback.”

It also contains more substantial content, such as a rewritten version of the content of this blog post: https://ropeblogi.wordpress.com/2016/05/25/religious-tenets-for-clerics/

Can someone under the effect of Join Pasts lie?

Specifically looking at Pathfinder’s Join Pasts, which reads:

With touches to the targets’ foreheads, you bring them into mental communion. The targets can share thoughts and experiences, but not words. When one target attempts to Recall Knowledge, the other can Aid the first target’s skill check, using any Lore skill (even if that Lore wouldn’t normally apply) without having made any preparations to Aid.

Could someone under the effect of this cantrip lie when sharing a thought or an experience? In my game, we’ve used this spell to look at a target’s past experiences and see things through their eyes – but the idea that they could just lie (for instance, by sharing that they grew up impoverished or were stolen from) came up recently.

Whats the damage of a colossal non-magical longbow under the effects of shrink item and a medium arrow?

What is the damage of a Colossal non-magical longbow when under the effects of shrink item spell?

Now, your standard medium longbow does 1d8 and weights 3 pounds. Scaling it up 4 size categories means its now does 6d6 according to the damage dice progression chart and should weigh 3x8x8x8x8=12,288 (the x8 is per category larger than medium, and calculated using enlarge person, reduce person, and righteous might). 12k pounds. Under the weapon rules, a large weapon costs 2x as much as a medium weapon, so said colossal longbow should cost 75x2x2x2x2=1200 (found on the weapons page and scrolling down to weapon qualities).

It is also worth mentioning that this weapon MIGHT also have a -8 on attacks roles due to the weapon being sized for a larger creature. Found on the weapons page by scrolling down to Weapon Size.

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can’t make optimum use of a weapon that isn’t properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn’t proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

Now having shrink spell cast on this colossal longbow now makes it back into a medium sized weapon and weighs 12,288 / 4000 = 3.072. Since shrink spell makes no statements about what damage the weapon would do, we are forced to rely on spells such as enlarge person and reduce person, of which they do not agree on this topic.

Enlarge person

Any enlarged item that leaves an enlarged creature’s possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown and projectile weapons deal their normal damage. Magical properties of enlarged items are not increased by this spell.

Reduce person

Any reduced item that leaves the reduced creature’s possession (including a projectile or thrown weapon) instantly returns to its normal size. This means that thrown weapons deal their normal damage (projectiles deal damage based on the size of the weapon that fired them).

So on one hand, reduce states its the weapon that matters, while enlarge says it does normal damage. So the best examples we have contradict each other for what happens. Since shrink item is more in tune with reduce person as both deal with shrinking, this would imply that a shrink item(colossal longbow) firing a medium arrow should deal 6d6 damage. Are there any rules, errata, FAQs that say otherwise? Crying DMs/GMs do not count.

There are two similar questions, but they ask different things. Shrink Item and the Oversized Starknife is asking about a thrown weapon. How viable is shrink item and massive projectiles? is asking about the projectile and not the launching weapon.