Does Unearthed Arcana ever get Reburied?

Each Unearthed Arcana is associated with a feedback questionnaire to the WoTC team. There have been times where new iterations have been released, presumably based on that feedback (like the Mystic.) But to my knowledge they haven’t said something wasn’t balanced after feedback and retracted it.

Have WoTC ever removed/reburied/etc. any Unearthed Arcana? Or is it assumed it’s all still usable as-is unless they improve on it either unofficially in an Unearthed Arcana new version or as part of published materials?

Is there a general consensus about not combining Unearthed Arcana (UA) materials with multi-classing?

Is there a general consensus about not combining Unearthed Arcana (UA) materials with multi-classing?

I have come across posts where contributors (in the comments) state that you cannot use a particular feature from Unearthed Arcana (UA) because the player had already chosen to multi-class.

Where does this notion come from?

I realise the DM has the final say on this, but is there an official statement in the published materials or a tweet to support this, or is it merely based on opinion?

The main argument I’ve seen is this: It is UA material and not part of the main set of rules yet; it has not been adjusted for multi-classing. Therefore players who multi-class are not be allowed to use materials from UA.

Do the Unearthed Arcana Tunnel Fighter Fighting Style and the Arcane Archer Fighter’s Grasping Arrow features trigger when standing from prone?

The Light, Dark, Underdark! Unearthed Arcana includes the Tunnel Fighter Fighting Style which states:

[…] As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach.

And the Arcane Archer Fighter’s Grasping Arrow Arcane Shot feature states:

[…] The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 foot or more without teleporting […]

What happens if the creature in question is currently prone, and stands from prone? Does this activate the Tunnel Fighter’s opportunity attack? Does this activate the 2d6 poison damage from Grasping Arrow?


Note I am aware that the following Q/A already exists:

  • Does standing up from prone trigger the damage from Booming Blade?

But I was told in my answer to another question that I cannot generalize answers there to conclude that standing from prone does not count as moving. So I am asking these separately instead.

I wanted to ask the question “Does standing from prone count as moving?” but was told that “There is no reason for the question “Does X count as Y?” to have a consistent, universally applicable answer.” and so have asked this instead.

Would the Unearthed Arcana Revived Rogue subclass have its hitpoint maximum reduced in Tomb of Annihilation?

I’ve been playing Tomb of Annihilation lately and asked my DM for his thoughts on using Unearthed Arcana material. He said he was cool with it which got me thinking. I’ve been interested in trying out the Revived Rogue subclass but then I realized ToA has the Death Curse as the big driving plot point.

I mentioned this in the chat but not everyone seemed convinced that the Revived Rogue would be considered revived for the sake of the death curse reducing its HP max. One person even said that the rogue could have just been brought back to life before the Soulmonger was activated which it would have had to have been regardless as nobody can be resurrected anyway once it activates and Syndra even mentions that she died before saying

“I was an adventurer years ago. I died once and was raised from the dead. I have since closed the door on that stage of my life.”

The subclass specifically mentions in its description

You’ve had a soul-shaking realization: you’ve been dead before, yet somehow you are alive again.

and

You might have convinced a deity to let you return to the Material Plane, perhaps you signed a deal with a fiend, or maybe you used an artifact that revived you.

So I ask here; Is the Revived Rogue subclass considered to have been raised from the dead for the sake of the Death Curse in Tomb of Annihilation?

Note: I am primarily looking for a RAW answer but you are welcome to include how you would rule as well.

Has there been a Kraken patron for the Warlock class in Unearthed Arcana?

Recently, this Unearthed Arcana article was released, which includes a new archetype for the Warlock class: the Lurker in the Deep patron. It’s pretty obviously geared towards having a Kraken as a patron (with a bit of wiggle room to allow other patrons such as an Aboleth or Water Elementals, but it still seems pretty Kraken-centric to me).

However, whilst discussing these new recent Unearthed Arcana releases with other gamers at my local store, they mentioned that there was already a patron for the Kraken from a previous Unearthed Arcana. I tend to keep up to date with the Unearthed Arcana articles, especially when they include new class archetypes, so the fact that I had never heard of this was surprising to me.

They then showed me a web page on some unofficial D&D site (not dndwiki.com; it wasn’t swamped with homebrew, but it still wasn’t something official; I can’t remember what it was called but it had the tagline “a pretty basic D&D wiki” or something similar). It was called “The Kraken” and was listed alongside patrons I recognise, but it claimed it was Unearthed Arcana (with no source or date to validate it). I remember the final feature was called “Unleash the Kraken”, but not much else.

Does anyone else recognise this? Is this an Unearthed Arcana archetype that I’ve missed, or is it just someone’s homebrew posing as official content (or some other mix up)?

How does the “Of Ships and the Sea” appendix of Ghosts of Saltmarsh differ from the Unearthed Arcana version?

Ghosts of Saltmarsh has a section in the back titled “Of Ships and the Sea”. This is presumably developed from the playtest material published as “Unearthed Arcana” under the same title.

It’s often the case that UA material changes based on feedback between the draft release and when it hits a published book. Is that the case here, and if so, what are the changes in broad terms? (I’m not looking to get the content for free — I just want to know if there are any significant “gotchas” if one person is looking at UA and another at the published material.)

What total is the Unearthed Arcana Fighter Brute’s Brutish Durability feature refering to?

On 2018-01-08, three new subclasses were released as Unearthed Arcana material. Of those 3, there is the Brute, a Fighter’s archetype. At level 7, a Brute gains access to the following feature:

Brutish Durability

Beginning at 7th level, your toughness allows you to shrug off assaults that would devastate others.

Whenever you make a saving throw, roll 1d6 and add the die to your saving throw total. If applying this bonus to a death saving throw increases the total to 20 or higher, you gain the benefits of rolling a 20 on the d20.

Emphasis mine

So for example, rolling a 19 (d20) + 6 (d6) on your death saving throw would count as having rolled a natural 20, getting you back with 1 HP.

But what if the Brute had a friendly Paladin with a +3 aura near him? Or if he was equipped with a Cloak of Protection that grants +1 to all saves? Does this feature of checking if the roll is 20 or higher applies before or after those other bonus?

In other words, if a Brute were to roll 15 (d20) + 4 (d6) + 3 (Paladin’s aura), would he gain the benefits of rolling a 20 for his Death Saving Throw?

What total is the Unearthed Arcana Fighter Brute’s Brutish Durability feature refering to?

On 2018-01-08, three new subclasses were released as Unearthed Arcana material. Of those 3, there is the Brute, a Fighter’s archetype. At level 7, a Brute gains access to the following feature:

Brutish Durability

Beginning at 7th level, your toughness allows you to shrug off assaults that would devastate others.

Whenever you make a saving throw, roll 1d6 and add the die to your saving throw total. If applying this bonus to a death saving throw increases the total to 20 or higher, you gain the benefits of rolling a 20 on the d20.

Emphasis mine

So for example, rolling a 19 (d20) + 6 (d6) on your death saving throw would count as having rolled a natural 20, getting you back with 1 HP.

But what if the Brute had a friendly Paladin with a +3 aura near him? Or if he was equipped with a Cloak of Protection that grants +1 to all saves? Does this feature of checking if the roll is 20 or higher applies before or after those other bonus?

In other words, if a Brute were to roll 15 (d20) + 4 (d6) + 3 (Paladin’s aura), would he gain the benefits of rolling a 20 for his Death Saving Throw?

Is “Unearthed Arcana: Players Make All Rolls” Correct?

In this Unearthed Arcana, they give rules so that players can make all the rolls, rather than the DM sometimes rolling for enemies. In one section, there are specifically rules for converting saving throw bonuses into an equivalent DC, which the players roll against, rather than the DM. However, after doing some math, I think they’ve made a mistake.

They say that you convert a Saving Throw into a Saving Throw Check by adding 11 to the defender’s saving throw modifiers, and using that as the DC for the check. The player then rolls against this DC, adding their spellcasing ability modifier and proficiency bonus. However, according to the following math, this conversion does not produce the same results.

In this math, I compare the chances of a player succeeding on a saving throw check, using the rules in the UA article, and of a monster failing its saving throw using the standard PHB rules. If the math is correct, both of these results should have the same chance.

These are the formulas I used.

Chance to succeed Saving Throw Check = (20 – DC + 1 + proficiency + casting mod) / 20

Chance to FAIL a Saving Throw = (DC – 1 – save proficiency – save mod) / 20

Assuming a proficiency bonus of +2, +0 for all ability mods, and no save proficiency:

Monster’s Saving throw Check DC = 11 + save mod = 11

Chance to succeed a saving throw check DC11: (20 – 11 + 1 + proficiency + casting mod) / 20 = 12/20 = 60%

Player’s Saving throw DC = 8 + proficiency + spellcasting ability mod = 10

Chance for monster to fail saving throw DC10: (10 – 1 – save proficiency – save mod) / 20 = 9/20 = 45%

If this were a valid conversion, both formulas would result in the same chance of success for the player, and failure for the monster respectively, however, they are off by 15%. This suggests that the unearthed Arcana’s rules are not a valid conversion.

Are the Unearthed Arcana rules wrong, or is my math wrong?

Does Unearthed Arcana render Favored Souls redundant?

In Unearthed Arcana, there is a set of optional rules for Spontaneous Divine Casters. Under the assumption that these rules are used and that any Favored Soul fluff is ignored, is there any mechanical reason to play a Favored Soul instead of a Spontaneous Divine Caster Cleric? After all, the Favored Soul lacks some fantastic Cleric abilities like Turn Undead.