What happens when an Immovable Rod is activated while in a vehicle?

The Red Bandits have boarded the train, hidden among the other passengers. They wait an hour or two – to be sure the train is far from any city – then, on the boss’s signal, they all pull out their weapons. The boss shouts, “Everybody down! This is a robbery!”

As they thieves rush from car to car, robbing each passenger of jewelry and loose coin, our adventurers realize they need to do something or lose their recently-won loot. The rogue pulls out an Immovable Rod, places it against the car’s door to bar it shut, and presses the button.

What happens?

Does the Rod use the ground (or the Prime Material Plane) as its reference frame for “unmoving”? Does the Rod stay still relative to the train car? Does it stay in motion in a straight line, which works fine (albeit with some shaking) until the train tracks turn?

Obviously this ultimately falls to DM discretion, but is there any rule or description that leans toward a particular answer? (I’ve tagged it for 5e, but I’ll take an answer from any edition.)

Does the level 6 Barbarian Elk Totem affect travel via land vehicle?

I am looking at the level Elk Totems ability for my next level of Barbarian. Currently most of our travel time has been on foot, but our Noble Half-Elf Ranger wants to get herself a horse drawn carriage. Would the travel pace of the carriage be doubled? Since both mounted and foot travel is covered by this ability it would make sense that land vehicles should be as well. Water and magic vehicles would not be affected.

Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide, pg. 122:

Elk. Whether mounted or on foot, your travel pace is doubled, as is the travel pace of up to 10 companions while they’re within 60 feet of you and you’re not incapacitated (see chapter 8 in the Player’s Handbook for more information about travel pace). The elk spirit helps you roam far and fast.

Carfax and AutoCheck Vehicle History Report Re-seller

Hey guys,

Selling my website: Reselling / selling Carfax reports.

This is best for those who own a car dealership in the US or EU and who get Carfax unlimited reports.

Or you can always find someone who sells Carfax for cheap and re-sell it.

#10 Position in Google – Keyword "Cheap Carfax"

You can also re-sell AutoCheck reports. I can give you a supplier who sells it for $ 2.

Earnings:
October 2November 2

Total: $ 198 – 33 Orders ($ 5.99)

August 30 -…

Carfax and AutoCheck Vehicle History Report Re-seller

Is there Vehicle Speed Errata for the DMG?

Recently, I have have been preparing the times for journeys over land and by sea for an upcoming session. When I told my players about my calculations, one of them said that my info in the DMG under the sailing ships speed has been Errata’d in the WotC Sage Advice blog. After hours of combing the website and google, I can find no errata specifically about vehicle speeds. Is there such errata?

My google searches in regards to sailing speeds gave me the target range of 5-8 knots on average (5 knots comes in close to 6mph vs DMG saying 2mph) So if there is Errata for this I’d like to know about it so I dont unfairly slow the estimated sea voyage travel time. I know I could house rule this, but I’d prefer seeing the supposed errata this player saw a reference to on reddit. Given that it’s reddit, I already doubt its legitimacy, but I’d be a terrible DM if I didn’t do my due diligence and ask around for official Rulings on this stuff.

Does a damaged integrated vehicle regain hit points when its warforged host takes a long rest?

Let’s say the following were to happen:

A warforged has an integrated longship. Their party is traveling along, when suddenly enemy pirates attack! The party emerges victorious, but the longship-warforged has sustained damage. As the party wonders how to repair the sails in the middle of the ocean, the warforged’s player comes up with a spectacular idea: “Wait, he says, I can just take a long rest! If the ship is part of me, and I regain all my hit points from a long rest, my ship should regain all its hit points when I finish a long rest!”

Going by strict RAW, should this work?

Does an envoy warforged have to choose a specific vehicle?

We know from the accepted answer to this question that envoy warforged can choose a vehicle for their integrated tool. However, on the table on page 154 of the Player’s Handbook, “Vehicles (land or water)” is listed as one type of tool.

So, question(s):

  1. Can the warforged choose the vehicle type each time they use the ability(longboat, rowboat, etc.)

  2. If the answer to the previous question is yes, does the warforged have to choose land or water vehicles at character creation, or can they use both interchangeably (because “Vehicles (land or water)” is listed as one type of tool, but uses “or”, which can be inclusive or exclusive)?

Pathfinder: Creating a Vehicle of Unusual Size (Medium)


Specific Questions

  1. Are there any mechanics for custom vehicles in the paizo rules?

  2. Are there any vehicles of medium or smaller size in the paizo rules?

  3. Are there any enhanced rules tied to piloting/driving a vehicle outside of Ultimate Combat?

  4. Are there any mechanics on disguising a vehicle/object that would make sharing a disguise with one explicitly follow other rules or be potentially invalid?

I am seeking guidance on how to bring the home-brew vehicle below more in line with the mechanics and rules in the official materials. I’m giving too much detail (probably) in the hopes it helps catch things I failed to ask explicitly.


Acknowledging the other pathfinder vehicle threads I benefited from reading.

Rules on damaging vehicles were discussed here. Additional vehicles tied to the high seas were discussed here. Some 3.5e vehicle details were brought up here.

All three were insightful, though they didn’t answer my questions above.


A Vehicle of Unusual Size (and Design)

I’m attempting to answer my own rules question best I can, but I do want help making sure I got this all right.

I’m specifically attempting to make a vehicle that fits into a single square and is Medium sized.

Any vehicle that takes up 2 or more squares is already covered by the rules. Nothing goes into Medium. The rules also give some details on how a vehicle might be altered, and on what statistics to track, but don’t explicitly play out how mechanics might combine. Here is my best attempt at hitting all those details.

Since something occupying 1 square is typically Medium sized or smaller, I am treating a 1 square vehicle as Medium sized. I wish there were explicitly a Medium vehicle to reference in the rules, but there isn’t one I saw.

But… Why?

I’ve drafted up a vehicle inspired by three goblins trying to fit in a trenchcoat. You can judge me.

The base cost is being assumed at 250gp, based on the costs worked into other vehicles for similar features, including Smuggler’s Wagon at medium effectiveness. I would love something more reliable as a measure. There was no way to be sure this was exactly right.

The enhanced version I included has that cost doubled based on a Smuggler’s Wagon at high concealment. The enhanced vehicle is also made of Mithral, and the cost for that is based off the +9,000gp cost for a suit of heavy armor. There were no ‘weight’ statistics on vehicles to do it by pound.

Another rule of interest: Creatures propulsion can be in teams. I didn’t find any other rules that refer to the concept of teams, to verify it working for pushing a vehicle.

The Person Suit


Medium land vehicle

Squares 1 (5 ft. by 5 ft.;6 feet high); Cost 250 gp (Basic), 9,500 gp (Enhanced)


Defense


AC 10; Hardness 0 (basic), AC 10; Hardness 15 (enhanced)

(The base AC is based on the size, and doesn’t factor in the driver’s skill. Hardness is inherited from the material)

hp 15 (7) (basic), 30 (14) (enhanced) (Determined by the size and material)

Base Save +0 (This bonus was entirely random in the sample entries, so I left it alone)

Defensive Abilities bounce, disguised?, compact


Offense


Maximum Speed 60 ft. (muscle); Acceleration 15 ft. (muscle) (Reviewing existing vehicles, all pushed vehicles with 1+ crew dedicated to movement per 1 square of space had these statistics)

CMB +0; CMD 10 (This is based on the vehicle size)

Offensive Abilities armed, about face


Description


This appears to be a vaguely barrel-shaped medium-sized humanoid, covered in a long robe and low-sitting wide-brimmed hat that obscure them from top to bottom from view. Enhanced versions are more convincingly humanoid, but both versions move unnaturally as if riding along on wheels and small sets of feet. Creatures inside The People Suit gain either total cover (the crew) or cover (the driver).

Propulsion muscle (pushed; 2 Small creature)

Driving Check Profession (driver)

Forward Facing The direction in which the vehicle last moved

Driving Device a single lever combined with leaning to tilt the vehicle

Driving Space the top deck of the space; the lever extends through all decks

Crew 2

Decks 3

Bounce (Ex) The Person Suit is constructed to be springy and easy to maneuver, which deprives it of the force and impact of a standard vehicle. The Person Suit is treated like a creature if impacted by another vehicle, and cannot perform vehicle maneuvers. The Person Suit can be targeted by any maneuver that forces movement as if it were a creature, and accelerates or decelerates based on the movement inflicted in the direction chosen.

Disguised? (Ex): The Person Suit is not all it seems, and this grants it certain benefits. The Person Suit may be used as part of a medium-sized disguise for the driver, negating the size penalty on the check. The Person Suit may also attempt stealth checks, using the stealth skill of the driver. Whenever The Person Suits moves, everyone nearby receives a +10 to perception to overcome the disguise or stealth check. This bonus is reduced to +5 for the Enhanced version.

Compact (Ex): The Person Suit is designed to fit three small creatures in cramped conditions. A medium or larger creature cannot fit inside of this vehicle to use it. Should a creature inside the vehicle suddenly increase in size, the vehicle falls apart and spills the crew and driver out in a three space line. It takes ten minutes to reassemble the vehicle should this happen.

Armed (Ex): The Person Suit has two arm-like appendages that can be equipped with a one-handed melee weapon and a shield, or two one-handed melee weapons. If given a shield, the shield’s bonuses apply to the vehicle. If given one or more weapons, a special attack maneuver may be attempted by the driver as a standard action. All adjacent creatures of medium size or larger must make a Reflex Save vs (10+1/2 Profession(driver) ranks+Wis) or take damage from all of the held weapons. Weapon enhancements do not increase the DC of this attack, but do apply to any damage dealt.

About Face (Ex): The driver may change the facing of the vehicle on their turn as part of an accelerate check. This does not change the direction in which the vehicle was moving previously, and attempting to accelerate in the opposite direction of ongoing movement is treated as a decelerate check. Because of the unorthodox way in which a People Suit can swivel and change the direction of the body, it receives +4 to AC against attacks of opportunity triggered by movement.


Is a player on a motorcycle-like vehicle considered “mounted”? What about a larger vehicle?

Could a player using a Devil’s Ride, the motorcycle-like vehicle from BG:DiA count as “mounted” for the purposes of using a lance or the mounted combatant feat? If so, what about a larger vehicle; would a player be able to hang off the side of a Scavenger with his lance, or poke it from the gunwale of a galleon? Must a player be mounted astride a creature, RAW? A creature a size larger than its rider and with the proper anatomy “can” serve as a mount, but are mounts exclusively creatures? How is “mounted” defined in 5e terminology, as it is not a condition?

Is a player on a motorcycle-like vehicle considered “mounted”? What about a larger vehicle?

Could a player using a Devil’s Ride, the motorcycle-like vehicle from BG:DiA count as “mounted” for the purposes of using a lance or the mounted combatant feat? If so, what about a larger vehicle; would a player be able to hang off the side of a Scavenger with his lance, or poke it from the gunwale of a galleon? Must a player be mounted astride a creature, RAW? A creature a size larger than its rider and with the proper anatomy “can” serve as a mount, but are mounts exclusively creatures? How is “mounted” defined in 5e terminology, as it is not a condition?