Can a half-elf taking Elf Atavism select a versatile heritage?

As title. Consider Halledon Felf, a half-elf. At first level, Hal takes Human ancestry, and selects Half-elf as a heritage. He then has an ancestry feat, which he uses to take Elf Atavism, allowing him to select an Elven heritage.

Leaving aside for a moment whether it benefits Hal to do so, can Hal select a versatile heritage, such as Aasimar or Tiefling, RAW?

Does Shillelagh affect a quarterstaff’s versatile damage?

I was looking at Shillelagh, which includes the following effects.

The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature’s power.

the weapon’s damage die becomes a d8. The weapon also becomes magical, if it isn’t already. (PHB, pg. 275)

Now, the club is fine, it just goes from a 1d4 to a 1d8. However, a quarterstaff does 1d6 and has versatility, letting you wield it two-handed for 1d8.

Since Shillelagh increases the quarterstaff’s base damage to a 1d8, would it be feasible to say that the versatile damage increases to a 1d10?

I’m basing this off the fact that all weapons that do 1d8 damage and have the versatile property (battleaxe, longsword, warhammer) all have their versatile damage as a 1d10 (PHB, pg. 149).

How does the Dual Wielder feat interact with versatile weapons?

I have a level 4 Paladin with the Dual Wielder feat (PHB p. 165):

You master fighting with two weapons, gaining the following benefits:

  • You gain a +1 bonus to AC while you are wielding a separate melee weapon in each hand.
  • You can use two-weapon fighting even when the one-handed melee weapons you are wielding aren’t light.
  • You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.

He does not have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style. He is wielding a longsword in one hand and a handaxe in his other (a thrown weapon).

Can the paladin throw the handaxe, switch grips on the longsword to hold it two-handed, and then use his bonus action from Two-Weapon Fighting to swing the longsword as a two-handed weapon?

If yes, can he then end his turn by drawing another handaxe (2nd free object interaction for Dual Wielder, and assuming he has another axe to draw)?

Can Rainbow Servant be combined with Versatile Spellcaster and Spontaneous Divination to cast all Cleric spells spontaneously?

A ridiculous idea has occurred to me and I’m looking to verify if really works. Consider the following build:

  • Wizard 5/Rainbow Servant 10 (a class from Complete Divine)
  • At Wizard 5, take Spontaneous Divination from Complete Champion so that you qualify for Versatile Spellcaster from Races of the Dragon.
  • Take Versatile Spellcaster at some point.
  • At Rainbow Servant 10, you gain access to the entire Cleric spell list.
  • Put together, Versatile Spellcaster and Rainbow Servant 10 should let a Wizard cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list.

This gives me two questions, the first as a focus and the second as a supplemental:

  1. Does this actually work? My first objection is that I’m not quite sure if the Wizard automatically knows all of the Cleric spells at Rainbow Servant 10. If you have to record them in your spellbook, you’ll soon run out of gold.
  2. If this does work, can the "powerful non-Diviner spellcaster class that can also cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list" idea be done better? The term "Rainbow Warake" seems to be in my memory.

Does switching between using a versatile weapon one-handed to two-handed cost anything with regards to the action economy?

The versatile weapon property says (PHB, p. 147):

Versatile. This weapon can be used with one or two hands. A damage value in parentheses appears with the property–the damage when the weapon is used with two hands to make a melee attack.

A weapon with the versatile property, such as a longsword or a quarterstaff, can be wielded with one or two hands. Does it consume any part of the action economy to switch between using one or two hands on your turn?

Intuitively I’d say no, I imagine it costs absolutely nothing, but I can imagine, at worst, there being arguments for it costing your “free object interaction” (PHB, p. 190). Which is it?

(Below are some related Q&As, but not specific to versatile weapons, sadly).


The accepted answer to a related Q&A (thanks @NautArch) suggests that:

Taking your hand off the weapon should not require any action expenditure – you are just letting go of it, same as if you dropped it.

You can then use your free object interaction to restore your grip after casting.

The reasoning for the first case makes sense, but the second case isn’t backed up by anything, although I can see the logic behind it.

The errata posted in that answer, to me, suggests that it would in fact cost nothing to grip the weapon with a second hand, almost like it’s “part of the attack”, similar to how the Ammunition weapon property works, but again, this is logic, not RAW.

To give a concrete example, if we imagine that a PC’s turn starts with a longsword in one hand and a spellcasting focus in the other; they spend their bonus action casting a spell with their focus, and then spend their free object interaction putting that focus away. With only their action left, can they now attack with their longsword using it as a versatile weapon (i.e. dealing 1d10 damage instead of 1d8)?


See also, the “following round” scenario of this question (thanks @Medix2), which involves sheathing a shortsword and attacking with a longbow that requires two hands. This is almost exactly the same scenario as the one I detailed above.

Can I wield a Saw-tooth Sabre with my tail as a Ratfolk using the Versatile Design weapon modification while being a Red Mantis Assassin?

I started playing a Rogue Ratfolk and have brought myself to the RMA prestige class. I used to wield a ratfolk Tailblade to maximise sneak potential, but it didn’t work out because the attacks kept missing so I abandoned this idea. However after a year of playing I suddenly discovered weapon modifications from Advanced Armory.

The Versatile Design feature says that weapons with such a mod can be treated as a different weapon fighting group with the limitation of converting melee weapons to range (which does not matter in this case). Although, it can be changed to the Natural weapon group, which contains ‘tail’ I suppose.

I can apply Weapon Adept and Exotic Weapon proficiency granted by the feats I already have. Moreover, I would also apply Weapon Focus, Greater Weapon Focus, Weapon Specialization and Greater Weapon Specialization granted by the Red Mantis Assassin class.

I have Amulet of the mighty fists with Agile enchantment as well, so applying Dex to attack rolls with natural weapons is not a problem.

So now I’d really like to return to idea of three-weapon fighting but I’m having a sort of confrontation about whether I can make this combination with my GM.

Would having Versatile Design on a Sawtooth Sabre allow me to wield it on my tail, therefore having my tail weapon benefit from all the feats granted by the Red Mantis Assassin?

Are lances and nets and versatile weapons considered one-handed weapons?

The Bladesinging Wizard gets the Training in War and Song feature, which states (SCAG, p. 142; emphasis mine):

[…] You gain proficiency with one type of one-handed melee weapon of your choice […]

Similarly, there is the Dual Wielder feat, which states (PHB, p. 165; emphasis mine):

[…] You can draw or stow two one-handed weapons when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one […]

Could a Wizard then choose the lance or Versatile weapon to gain proficiency in? (They can’t choose the net because it’s ranged.)

Could somebody with Dual Wielder draw/stow a lance, net, or Versatile weapon? None of them have the Two-Handed property, but they do have either the Special or Versatile properties so I’m unsure how this works out. Do nets and lances and Versatile weapons count as one-handed weapons?


The following question already exists but it only establishes that a lance while mounted counts as a one-handed weapon:

  • Can you dual wield lances?

Does the Dueling fighting style work with versatile weapons while wielding them with two hands?

The Dueling fighting style states that:

When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon.

I know that the versatile property doesn’t disqualify it as it’s not two-handed, but what about the “in one hand” part of the feat? Would you be able to wield a versatile weapon with two hands and still gain the benefits from Dueling?

Does using versatile weapons with 2 hands disqualify them as Monk weapons?

When using either the quarterstaff or spear as a Monk weapon, do you still gain the unarmed bonus action from Martial Arts if using 2 hands(1d8)?

On pg.78 of the PHB under Martial Arts it states that a Monk weapon cannot have the 2-handed or heavy property, so I assume since the versatile property is not the 2-handed property or heavy property then it does not matter if I use it in one or two hands. However, why then would a distinction be needed since the only simple weapon that does have the 2-handed property is a Greatclub, which is also mechanically identical to a quarterstaff used in two hands. Why make a rule that doesn’t apply to anything?

The other interpretation is that you’re meant to use 1d6 for damage in order to gain the Monk’s Martial Arts bonus action, and using a 1d8 will forfeit the bonus because the quarterstaff is now considered 2-handed. Pg.147 under Versatile states “A damage value in parentheses (in this case 1d8) appears with the property—the damage when the weapon is used with two hands to make a melee attack.”