Which spells can be cast across Pathfinder’s Wall of Force?

The Wall of Force spell description says, “Breath weapons and spells cannot pass through a wall of force in either direction”. But what exactly does this mean ? Specifically,

  • Can I cast a Fireball through the Wall of Force ? I’m guessing not, since Fireball creates a projectile that cannot pass the Wall.
  • How about a ray spell, such as Scorching Ray ? Again, intuitively, the answer would seem to be “No”.
  • What about Summon Monster ? Can I sit on one side of the wall, and summon creatures on the other side ?
  • In general, what about grid-targeted spells that do not explicitly launch a projectile like Fireball does ?

How much information is there about the Wall of the Faithless and the crusades against it, and where can I find it?

I’m getting ready to DM a Forgotten Realms campaign against the Wall, but I’m not sure if I have all the information I could have.

This will be a sequel to the last campaign we had, where one of the characters managed to get most of the others interested in joining him in a crusade as soon as the preparations are complete; the player in question got the idea after playing a game called Mask of the Betrayer.

Now, I haven’t played this game but plan on watching a playthrough of it, but I’m wondering if there’s any more information in a book or a supplement or something that I could read; the more info I have on it the better prepared I’ll be.

This will be a D&D 3.5e campaign, so anything specific to 4e or later won’t be of use to me. Aside from that, though, anything you could find will be greatly appreciated.

Must the layers of the Prismatic Wall spell be destroyed in order?

Must the layers of the Prismatic Wall spell be destroyed in order?

You’d think this is answered read-as-written on page 269 of the 5e PHB:

The wall can be destroyed, also one layer at a time, in order from red to violet, by means specific to each layer.

However, I know I’ve seen multiple people around the internet talk about strategies of intentionally destroying certain layers of their own wall like the red, orange, or indigo layers, and holing up inside the wall and shooting or casting spells through the wall without those layers blocking them.

It also begs a question like “If a fireball hits the wall as part of battle and does 25 damage, does it destroy the blue layer individually?”

I just want some validation that you really do have to hack each layer down from red to violet as opposed to losing middle layers intentionally or unintentionally as part of the overall battle.

If you pass through the order of colors in Prismatic Wall one way, do you reverse the order of colors passing through the other way?

I set up a Prismatic Wall and a non-protected creature passes through it, say from left to right. On page 269 of the 5e Player’s Handbook, the spell reads:

“When a creature attempts to reach into or pass through the wall, it does so one layer at a time through all the wall’s layers. As it passes or reaches through each layer, the creature must make a Dexterity saving throw or be affected by that layer’s properties as described below.”

The layers are listed from Red to Violet, so the enemy passed through my wall in that order and made it through. They are now on the right side, and I have contrived a way to push them back through the wall to the left side. Do I reverse the order they encounter the layers and go Violet to Red, or do I always go Red to Violet whenever anything passes through the wall?

In other words, does a Prismatic Wall have a “sidedness” to it, and, if so, when is that sidedness established?

Does wall of stone need support or not?

The description of wall of stone states:

The wall doesn’t need to be vertical or rest on any firm foundation. It must, however, merge with and be solidly supported by existing stone. (PHB 287)

To me the two statements “doesn’t need to rest on any firm foundation” and “must be solidly supported” seem contradictory. So does the stone the spell effect is merged to have to serve as a foundation or not? Could someone give an example that would be a shape or positioning of the effect that has no foundation, but is supported?

[ Renting & Real Estate ] Open Question : Question about electrical work ( coaxial wall outlets)?

I live in an apartment building and my first question is: can a technician come out to my home and install a coaxial outlet to any wall in my living room that I want? Or must the outlet be installed in a particular location in the apartment? 2nd Question: Must I obtain permission from my apartment manager before allowing a technician to cut holes in my wall and install anything new? There is already a coaxial outlet in my bedroom . However this does not suffice. A second outlet needs to be in the living room so that I can connect my TV in the living room . Also the outlet that is in the bedroom is being occupied buy my laptop computer’s modem right now.

Holes in Wall of Force

According to answers to this question Wall of Force follows rules for area spells (PHB, 204)

A spell’s effect expands in straight lines from the point of origin. If no unblocked straight line extends from the point of origin to a location within the area of effect, that location isn’t included in the spell’s area. To block one of these imaginary lines, an obstruction must provide total cover

Now, a hypothetical situation. Mage is trying to create a wall of Force in a ‘sphere’ mode around a creature. There are several possible variants and related questions:

Variant A

Sphere is placed in a way, that wall intersects creature. According to description of Wall of Force – it causes creature to move to one side of the wall, caster’s choice. Does it happen before or after area of spell’s effect is calculated? I.e. does such moved creature leaves a silhouette-shaped hole in the wall or not?

Variant B

Sphere is placed in a way that creature is within in. Point of origin is as close to creature as possible. Obviously some straight lines from point of origin to a some locations upon the sphere are blocked by said creature. For some of those locations creature is likely to provide total cover. Does it mean that Wall of Force would have holes in that case?

Variant C

Wall of Force in a 5-feet radius sphere option cast next to 6-feet tall creature. What happens with a creature? Is it forced to kneel or somehow else fit into the sphere or is it just moved, but still standing as it was standing, with his head and shoulders sticking through a hole in the Wall of Force sphere? What is sphere is smaller? I.e. is it possible to use Wall of Force as a trap, encasing only parts of creature and leaving the rest sticking outside?