How to Initially Ward Player Away from Key, Story-Driving Item?

I have an item in my DnD-5e story that is intended to have a warding effect, in that the story requires that it have a "magical ability" with the intention of warding or repelling people away from that location. However, this is an item the players must eventually obtain as it is crucial for the story.

My initial thought was to allow this item to use a spell like this Repel spell, if the players attempt to interact with it, but they need some way to overcome this spell and actually obtain this item.

How can I allow this item to ward players players away, while still having a way for the players to circumvent the warding effect and obtain said item?

What happens to an abjurer’s Arcane Ward when they fail the saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115):

Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest. The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage.

A Banshee (MM, p. 23) has the Wail action:

Wail (1/Day). The banshee releases a mournful wail, provided that she isn’t in sunlight. This wail has no effect on constructs and undead. All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failure, a creature drops to 0 hit points. On a success, a creature takes 10 (3d6) psychic damage.

If an abjuration wizard who has an Arcane Ward active fails their saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail, they would drop to 0 hit points. What happens to their ward?

  • Does it drop to 0 hit points instead of the wizard (meaning the wizard does not drop to 0 hit points)? The Wail ability is not damage (if you fail the save), whereas the Arcane Ward specifically mentions damage, so I assume this isn’t how it works…
  • Does it disappear when the wizard drops to 0 hit points? I don’t think anything about the Banshee’s Wail or dropping to 0 hit points generally would make it disappear…
  • Does it remain active? I’m assuming this is the most likely answer, given my above reasoning…

What happens when a dying abjurer with an Arcane Ward active is attacked?

An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115):

Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest. The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage.

If an abjurer is dropped to 0 hit points by means other than damage (such as by failing a saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail), their Arcane Ward remains active (assuming it was active before). What happens if they are attacked whilst dying?

  • They take a step towards death; the rules on Damage at 0 hit points don’t take the Arcane Ward into account;
  • The Arcane Ward continues to "block" damage, so the ward would need to be reduce to 0 hit points/the damage exceed the ward’s hit point before it counts as the wizard taking damage at 0 hit points. Hence if the ward had 10 hit points and a monster dealt 5 hit points, the wizard would not suffer any failed death saving throws;
  • Both of the above; the Arcane Ward would continue to absorb damage, which may be relevant for death by massive damage, but the wizard would still suffer failed saving throws anyway);

How do the Death Ward spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait interact?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a half-orc? Do the effects of the spell and the half-orc’s Relentless Endurance racial trait stack?

If so, and you get reduced to 0 HP more than once, can you go back up to 1 HP a second time? Or does only one of them take effect and you can only be brought back to 1 HP once?

My DM thinks the latter.

Wizard’s Spell Mastery & Arcane Ward Synergy?

At 18th Level, Wizards of all Schools gain the “Spell Mastery” feature:

At 18th level, you have achieved such mastery over certain Spells that you can cast them at will. Choose a 1st-level wizard spell and a 2nd-level wizard spell that are in your Spellbook. You can cast those Spells at their lowest level without expending a spell slot when you have them prepared.

Meanwhile, at 2nd level, an Abjuration Wizard gains the “Arcane Ward” feature:

When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest. The ward has hit points equal to twice your w izard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage. While the ward has 0 hit points, it can’t absorb damage, but its magic remains. Whenever you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, the ward regains a number of hit points equal to twice the level of the spell.

Provided a player character picked the Wizard as his class and the Abjuration School of Magic: If he was to select Shield (1st-level abjuration) as the 1st-level spell for his Spell Mastery feature, could that Wizard in theory recharge the ward with 2HP/Turn for free, all day? Also, would this imply that, provided he had the time between fights (At most 2.3 minutes, 23 rounds with Lv20 and +5 INT) he could heal the ward up to full by casting shield at the start of every round out of combat?

RAW, when using the Abjuration Wizard’s Projected Ward, who takes “any remaining damage”?

The Abjuration Wizard’s 2nd level ability Arcane Ward reads:

Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest.

In the context of this ability, the wizard is the "warded creature", obviously.

The 6th level ability, Projected Ward, reads:

Starting at 6th level, when a creature that you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to cause your Arcane Ward to absorb that damage. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, the warded creature takes any remaining damage.

To use Projected Ward, you must already have your Arcane Ward active, thus before using your reaction, you are definitely "the warded creature". In the description for Projected Ward, it says you are using "your ward", as in the ward that is warding you, to absorb the damage.

In the context of this ability who is the "warded creature", the wizard or the creature who took the damage that triggered the reaction?

The RAI seems obvious here, but I would prefer a RAW focused ruling.

What does the Death Ward spell do when a Zealot Barbarian’s Rage Beyond Death feature ends while they have three failed Death Saving Throws?

The death ward spell states:

[…] If the spell is still in effect when the target is subjected to an effect that would kill it instantaneously without dealing damage, that effect is instead negated against the target, and the spell ends.

One example of such an effect would be failing a third death saving throw. Ordinarily you would die immediately after failing your third death saving throw but this is not the case for the Zealot Barbarian currently Raging Beyond Death:

You still must make death saving throws, and you suffer the normal effects of taking damage while at 0 hit points. However, if you would die due to failing death saving throws, you don’t die until your rage ends, and you die then only if you still have 0 hit points

So what happens if the Barbarian has three failed death saves and then their Rage ends?
What instantaneously killing effect is the Barbarian being subjected to?
What exactly is negated by death ward?
Is the third death saving throw removed?

What happens when you cast Death Ward on a raging level 14 Zealot Barbarian who is at 0 HP?

Let’s say a Zealot Barbarian is using Rage Beyond Death and thus they do not fall unconscious at 0 HP. Let’s further say that they’re currently at 0 HP.

If death ward is cast on them, then by RAW it seems like they do not go back up to 1 HP. But what if they receive damage afterwards? Does death ward kick in and return them to 1 HP, or does it not kick in because you can’t drop to 0 HP while already at 0 HP?