In the recently released preview of the Wild Magic Barbarian that will be in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything (preview here), I noticed the 6th level feature ‘Bolstering Magic’. This feature has two applications. One acts as a Bless-type option, the second one reads:
Roll a d3. The creature [you’re touching] regains one expended spell slot, the level of which equals the number rolled or lower (the creature’s choice). Once a creature receives this benefit, that creature can’t receive it again until after a long rest.
Suppose this effect is used on a Warlock of level 7 or above, and for the sake of argument suppose we rolled a 3 on the d3. All of their spell slots are of spell level 4. What happens?
- Nothing, the Warlock doesn’t have the right type of spell slot to regain
- The Warlock has (expended) spell slots of Level 4 and higher, and now has a level 3 spell slot
- Something else happens, namely …
I am wondering if this interpretation of the interaction between the Pact of the Chain feature and Flock of Familiars is correct.
Pact of the Chain (emphasis mine) states:
You learn the Find Familiar spell and can cast it as a ritual. The spell doesn’t count against your number of Spells known.
When you cast the spell, you can choose one of the normal forms for your familiar or one of the following Special forms: Imp, Pseudodragon, Quasit, or Sprite.
Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one Attack of its own with its Reaction.
Flock of Familiars (again, emphasis mine) states:
You temporarily summon three familiars – spirits that take animal forms of your choice. Each familiar uses the same rules and options for a familiar conjured by the Find Familiar spell. All the familiars conjured by this spell must be the same type of creature (celestials, fey, or fiends; your choice). If you already have a familiar conjured by the Find Familiar spell or similar means, then one fewer familiars are conjured by this spell.
To put it more precisely:
Does this mean that you can summon additional (although temporary) Imps/Sprites/etc?
Note: This is not a balance question, this is RAW only please.
At Level 12, a Pact of the Blade Warlock can take the Lifedrinker Eldritch Invocation, which states the following:
When you hit a creature with your pact weapon, the creature takes extra necrotic damage equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum 1).
Assuming a Hexblade Warlock with a 20 in Charisma, this translates to 10 bonus damage per attack. This enormous bonus means that every missed attack results in a significant reduction in damage.
The Sharpshooter and Great Weapon Master feats grant options of the following pattern:
Before you make [an attack] with [a weapon] with which you are proficient, you can choose to take a -5 penalty to the attack roll. If you do so and the attack hits, it deals +10 damage.
At what point is the Warlock’s expected damage per attack reduced by using the optional attack modifier of either the Sharpshooter or Great Weapon Master feat?
Assume a Hexblade, Pact of the Blade Warlock with the following characteristics:
- At least 12th level
- Lifedrinker Eldritch Invocation
- 20 in Charisma
- Using a pact weapon, either:
- … with the respective weapon feat:
- Great Weapon Master
With the following variables:
- Enemy AC
- Attack roll and damage roll bonuses (due to spells, proficiency bonus, magic weapons, etc.)
This is in response to this question which concerns the UA version of Improved Pact Weapon. The text for the Eldritch Invocation changed when it was published in Xanathar’s Guide to Everything.
The description for the Warlock’s Improved Pact Weapon Eldritch Invocation now states the following:
The weapon gains a +1 bonus to its attack and damage rolls, unless it is a magic weapon that already has a bonus to those rolls.
+1 weapons are normally considered magical for the purpose of spells like Elemental Weapon, which cannot be cast on a magic weapon.
Is a Warlock’s Improved Pact Weapon considered a magic weapon?
I’m playing a level 6 Warlock, my patron is Cthulhu (old god). I am a fan of Lovecraftian style horror, and I’d like to incorporate some of these themes in my quest. My personal quest is to create a cult of followers of Cthulhu, mostly to help me gain more forbidden knowledge but also to push the story of my character as a patron of Cthulhu. I had the opportunity recently to inflict some madness on 3 tied up initiates of a different cult who had been undergoing a stressful test to live on "air alone". I inflicted this madness using a tome my DM had given me, sharing otherworldly knowledge. I think now could be a good starting point to gain followers.
In reading other questions about creating cults, one of the things that needs to be there is authenticity. My followers need to be compelled to join me because of the horrific and terrible things I show them. I am unsure if I am powerful enough to do this yet. I want to do this according to the rules as much as I can, with less bending of rules or special treatment from my DM, since I am in a party and I still have things to do with them. I’d like to be able to gather followers sort of on the down-low without much "main quest" interference.
Are there any useful spells to use that will help me recruit followers?
Are there any feats that will help me recruiting or inflicting madness?
Are there any useful spells to assist in or directly inflict madness into NPCs?
What level should I be before I can expect to reliably recruit and command followers?
Can I do this with RAW?
small caveat: I am willing, and indeed waiting, to practice necromancy. My character is chaotic neutral, but by no means am I intending for this to be static. If he becomes evil, so be it. Should be fun!
Im just getting started and am interested in the warlock class. From reading a bunch on this class it seams like the easiest way to play one is as an Eldritch Blast spammer. I understand the damage output can be quite high.
However, at mid to high levels don’t enemies start having resistance to spells below a certain level, making EB unviable? With so few spells seems like at this point the Warlock won’t be useful in combat any more under those scenarios. I understand that not all encounters will play out like that, but it’s a pretty big deficiency.
In our next campaign, I will play a fiend warlock. I have made a pact with a powerful devil. He will get my soul once I die. In exchange, he gave me a portion of his power.
Since the deal, I have matured. I have found religion, and regret the pact. Thus, I want to avoid dying at all cost. My endgoal would be to become a lich (or achieve immortality another way).
Is this even possible for warlocks, or can only wizards become liches? I have read conflicting information online…
How do I go about becoming a lich? Are there fixed rules and requirements, or does my DM have to make it up?
According to the Complete Arcane book, warlock invocations are not spells. Barbarian rage description in PHB1 says:
While raging, a barbarian cannot use any Charisma-, Dexterity-, or Intelligence-based skills (except for Balance, Escape Artist, Intimidate, and Ride), the Concentration skill, or any abilities that require patience or concentration, nor can he cast spells or activate magic items that require a command word, a spell trigger (such as a wand), or spell completion (such as a scroll) to function. He can use any feat he has except Combat Expertise, item creation feats, and metamagic feats.
So, if invocations are not spells – can I use it in rage? If they are spells can I just multiclass into Rage Mage from Complete Warrior handbook? In the other words invocations are arcane spells or not?
to me, the Voice of the Chain Master invocation reads that it completely upgrades the basic Find Familiar spell, increasing the range of the telepathic communication to 100 feet and no longer requiring an action to perceive through its senses.
I have read Crawford’s Sage Advice saying you still require an action, but that was 4 years ago and he is known to change his rulings (though it might not have changed, just that people have not asked in a while)
Let’s say my multi-class Warlock 3 / Wizard 17 and his party have just killed his patron, fulfilling a life long dream to be free of an ancestral Pact with the evil fiend. He has zero interest in becoming ‘sworn and beholden’ to a new entity.
Now, according to this somewhat related question “What happens if the entity a warlock has a pact with is killed?”, the accepted answer is basically “No patron, no power”. That makes sense from the stand point of losing the ability to cast Pact Magic, as well as access to the various class abilities that were gained from the fiend patron.
However, there are still 3 character levels that it’s unclear what to do with. These levels were gained through adventuring, so what happens to them? Does the experience gained just evaporate? Does it transfer to the Wizard levels?
Obviously, the easy way out is “It’s up to the DM”. What I’m actually looking for is if there has ever been a precedence set for what happens when a character basically loses access to a class. For instance, 5e Oathbreaker Paladin shows what happens to a paladin that breaks their oath.
I’m interested in finding any precedence set throughout the history of D&D that will help a DM decide how to handle this.
What is the precedence for what happens to a warlock’s character levels if their patron dies?