Can a standard Kobold Warrior make a Sneak Attack with a spear?

The standard Kobold Warrior has the Sneak Attack ability, which specifies:

The kobold warrior deals an extra 1d4 precision damage to flat-footed creatures.

But the general description of the Sneak Attack ability in the glossary says:

When the monster Strikes a creature that has the flat-footed condition with an agile or finesse melee weapon, an agile or finesse unarmed attack, or a ranged weapon attack, it also deals the listed precision damage. For a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, that weapon must also be an agile or finesse weapon.

The preface to Creature Abilities also says:

The statistics for individual creatures might alter the traits, the number of actions, or other rules of these abilities. Anything noted in a specific creature’s stat block overrides the general rules for the ability below.

The only weapons the kobold warrior has are a spear and a sling. Does this mean that he can only use his sneak attack with the sling (since a spear doesn’t have the agile or finesse traits)? Or is its own description of the Sneak Attack ability overriding the general one, and removing all the prerequisites?

Can a Hexblade warlock choose a lance for his Hex Warrior weapon?

The lance description says:

a lance requires two hands to wield when you aren’t mounted.

Note that the lance lacks the two handed property but still need 2 hands to wield.

The Hexblade warlock’s Hex Warrior feature description (Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, p. 55) says:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property.

Can I use the Hex Warrior feature with a lance?

Does the Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature apply to a magic weapon that is transformed into your Pact Weapon?

The Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature states (emphasis mine):

[…] If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.

Meanwhile, the Pact of the Blade Warlock feature states:

[…] You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. […]

Does a magic weapon that you have transformed into your pact weapon benefit from Hex Warrior?
Does it count as a weapon you have conjured using Pact of the Blade?
Does the answer change if you shunt the weapon away and then make it appear afterwards?

Does the Psi Warrior Telekinetic movement let you move an item you’re standing on?

as title, the telekinetic movement option says "One loose object that is Large or smaller or one willing creature other than yourself", does that mean that if say, i placed my shield on the ground, stood on it and used telekinetic movement i could indirectly move 30 feet in any direction by moving the shield? i’m asking because the definition of "Loose Object" is kinda murky. i interpreted it as "an object that is not bound or being held".

TL:DR can i use telekinetic movement to prop fly a la half life 2?

Is the Psi Warrior Fighter’s Psionic Strike compatible with the Brace Combat Maneuver?

Psionic Strike. You can propel your weapons with psionic force. Once on each of your turns, immediately after you hit a target within 30 feet of you with an attack and deal damage to it with a weapon, you can expend one Psionic Energy die, rolling it and dealing force damage to the target equal to the number rolled plus your Intelligence modifier.

Brace. When a creature you can see moves into the reach you have with the melee weapon you’re wielding, you can use your reaction to expend one superiority die and make one attack against the creature, using that weapon. If the attack hits, add the superiority die to the weapon’s damage roll.

I would imagine not considering the "once on each of your turns wording" but I just want to make sure. It would be super cool if I could use Brace’s attack, stack Psionic Strike on top it and then use Telekinetic Thrust.

Can a Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian have different totems chosen for each subclass feature at the same time?

I was creating a goliath Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian (PHB, p. 50), and had chosen the Bear totem for his 3rd-level Totem Spirit feature. The 6th-level Aspect of the Beast feature, however, is redundant for a Bear totem/goliath combination, since they both basically double his carrying capacity. I wondered if I could choose a different totem at 6th level.

I did notice the following language for each subsequent totem choice after the first (at levels 6 and 14):

At ___ level, you gain a magical benefit based on the totem animal of your choice. You can choose the same animal you selected at 3rd level or a different one.

My first assumption was that this is like swapping out spells known when you level in some spell casting classes, such as the bard (i.e. if you choose Wolf at 6th level, your abilities switch over to a Wolf Totem barbarian). After all, in online discussions, people often refer to a Bear Totem barbarian, or a Wolf Totem barbarian, but never do I see reference to a multi-totemed Barbarian. However, I wanted the 6th-level Wolf ability, but didn’t want to give up the 3rd level Bear ability.

Can a Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian have multiple totems? That is, can they have different totems chosen for each subclass feature at the same time?

Totem warrior animal choices [duplicate]

My question for today is, when a totem warrior barbarian chooses a 2nd animal after his 1st animal at level 3, do they get the first ability presented at level 3? Or do they get the new ability?

For example, lets say i chose the bear at level 3, and then at level 6 i chose the eagle. Will i get the eagle’s ability which was presented at level 3? Or is that option no longer available, and i’ll get the ability the eagle gives at level 6?

Are there ways other than Kensei Weapons or Hex Warrior to use an ability other than STR for non-finesse melee weapons?

Usually melee weapons (without the finesse property) use the character’s STR modifier exclusively for attack rolls and damage.

I am aware of two exceptions: The Monk (Path of the Kensei) gains the Kensei Weapons ability at Level 3 –

Kensei Weapons. Choose two types of weapons to be your kensei weapons: one melee weapon and one ranged weapon. Each of these weapons can be any simple or martial weapon that lacks the heavy and special properties. The longbow is also a valid choice. You gain proficiency with these weapons if you don’t already have it. Weapons of the chosen types are monk weapons for you.

XGtE pg.34

You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a shield:

  • You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes and monk weapons.

PHB pg.78

And the Hexblade (Warlock) has Hex Warrior:

…you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls.

XGtE pg.55

Are there any other ways to dump strength without limiting your melee character to finesse weapons? I’m interested in any and all solutions that use the actual weapon’s stats.


For clarity Any solutions must fit the following attack structure
To hit: (d20 + STR??? Modifier + any bonuses [incl. Proficiency])
Damage: (Weapon dice + STR??? Modifier + any bonuses)


Comments/answer have highlighted to me that I was especially interested in knowing if there was a way to use an ability other than STR for weapons with damage dice of d8 and over. Extra points if you can find a published way of doing this, especially if you can hit the d10s and d12s!

Can a Totem Warrior Barbarian choose a second Totem Spirit in place of an Aspect of the Beast?

Is it possible for a Totem Warrior Barbarian to select another totem from level 3 instead of the Aspect of the Beast at level 6?

At 6th level, you gain a magical benefit based on the totem animal of your choice. You can choose the same animal you selected at 3rd level or a different one. (Player’s Handbook)

This means that it’s possible for a Barbarian who selected the bear on level 3 (resistance) to e.g. select the eagle on level 6 (eyesight).

However, is it possible to select the eagle level 3 upgrade (Dash bonus action) on the Barbarian level 6 upgrade, when the bear was selected on the level 3 upgrade? As the Totem Spirit of level 3 is "lower" in some terms, I wouldn’t mind to allow it. This would create a level 6 Barbarian with resistance and Dash as a bonus action, a pretty fast tank character (for example).

And is this also valid for level 14 Totemic Attunement, thus allowing to select another (not yet selected) totem from the previous levels?