Is it possible to use a weapon as a normal weapon and an arcane focus at the same time?

I am relatively new to D&D, and am currently creating my very first PC, a Tiefling Sorcerer with a Draconic Origin. As I was working on my weapons and items, I got into what an arcane focus is and how they work.

Since I read online that a quarterstaff can double as a weapon and an arcane focus, I was wondering if it was possible to use them as both of those things at the same time?

Let me give an example: I am a 3rd level Sorcerer and know the metamagic Quickened Spell and the Shocking Grasp cantrip. I am in the middle of combat, and on my turn decide to attack an enemy within range with my quarterstaff. Before I attack, I decide to expend my two sorcery points to change the casting time of Shocking Grasp cantrip to one bonus action. I then attack and hit the monster.

Can I simultaneously hit the monster, costing 1 action, and cast my Shocking Grasp cantrip, costing 1 bonus action, to deal more damage with my attack?

Using Extra Attack feature with two-handed weapon and additional thrown weapon

As the title states, I have a question about how the rules handle using the Extra Attack class feature to make two separate attacks with a two-handed weapon and a thrown weapon.


PHB Errata. Two-Handed (p. 147). This property is relevant only when you attack with the weapon, not when you simply hold it.


PHB Page 190. You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.


Not official rule, but this developer Tweet says:

@DnDMontreal [Apr 4, 2015]:

@JeremyECrawford what are the rules on dropping weapons? People are dropping weapons to circumvent only having one ‘Interaction with Object’

@JeremyECrawford [3:20 PM · Apr 4, 2015]:

@DnDMontreal The intent is that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort. But picking it up does.


So, my question is, can I perform this sequence of events during my turn?

  • Start turn with Halberd in both hands
  • Let go of Halberd with one hand (either letting the pole arm hang mid-air in one hand, or propping it up with the butt-end on the ground) using “free action”
  • Draw Javelin from storage, throw said Javelin at one target out of melee range
  • Replace second hand onto halberd to attack second target that IS within melee range
  • Use Bonus Action to do whatever I want (including possibly butt-end attack with Halberd from Polearm Master feat)

This comes up as a result of looking at a handful of other questions, and finding them all not quite capturing my own question:

  • Holding a longbow (or other 2H weapon) and attacking with a shortsword (or other 1H weapon)?
    • This question is only concerned about using one weapon while holding the other and has nothing to do with multiple attacks as main action. It also served as a good baseline for formatting my question 🙂
  • Can you draw and or throw a javelin on one or more successive turns while still using a 2-handed weapon for opportunity attacks?
    • This question focuses on the reactions you can make with a polearm, which are also relevant options my character would want to have available. It has the parts of shifting weapon to one hand and back to two hands, but nothing of multiple attacks.
  • Can you drop one hand from a two-handed weapon to draw and use a single-handed weapon next turn?
    • This is only one small part of my question. It is also how I found the Sage Advice.
  • Can you attack with more than one weapon when using Extra Attack?
    • This answered part of my question as well. I especially love the example given in Dale M’s answer
  • Can you attack with different weapons using Extra Attack?
    • Finally this question also answered part of my question as well.

I apologize for the wall of text, but based on this research, my reading is that the above scenario is allowed per RAW (and a little RAI doesn’t hurt my case). I just want confirmation from the larger community to make sure that I got it right for when I present it to my DM and fellow players.

Is there any practical way to magically summon/create a weapon and throw it in one turn?

Heavily inspired by this question, I wanted to expand the scope a bit.

That question was specifically about using Minor Conjuration to conjure a dagger or dart as an action, which I assume is an ability tied to the School of Conjuration wizard (I only have the SRD available at the moment, and it only lists Evocation), and then throwing the conjured weapon as a bonus action. The negative response was entirely because the proposed character didn’t get to attack as a bonus action unless they took the Attack action.

I would like to find an alternate way to accomplish this, since it does seem cool (even if it’s likely to be impractical compared to normal ranged attacks or cantrips). There’s a lot of theoretical ground to cover, but some examples of effects that could be provided by a feat or class feature are:

  • The ability to make a weapon attack as a bonus action without making an Attack as an action. For example, I could imagine a Feat that says “When you use your Action to cast a spell, you may make an attack with a weapon as a bonus action”
  • The ability to conjure or summon a dagger as a bonus action, leaving the action free to make the attack. For example, if a spell with a casting time of 1 action can accomplish the conjuration or summoning effect, then a Sorcerer could Quicken that spell.

I’ve found precisely one way to do this, which I will post as an answer, but it seems like this small effect should be available for a less ridiculous cost.

For clarification, the definition I am using for “practical” here is based on having a low total cost to achieve the effect. For example, using something like a Spell Slot that is limited per day is less practical than something which doesn’t consume any resources like that. Similarly, an effect requiring more levels in a particular class or more feats is less practical because it “costs” levels/feats that could have been applied to something else.

Balancing an Enchanted weapon

I’m a relatively new Dungeon Master and am currently running my first campaign with a couple of friends. I am asking about some advice for balancing a home-brewed weapon.

The player is a silver dragonborn Fighter, I gave them a standard long sword with a dwarvern mechanism that can create a 15ft cone of cold that was the same stats as the player’s breath weapon, including the saving throw and scaling of the damage, essentially giving them the ability to use their breath weapon twice per long rest.

The weapon itself is not enchanted so he PM’d me asking if he could get the blade enchanted.

So I came up with this:

This weapon has two charges, that recharge every long rest.

This requires attunement.

The chilling blow ability requires the con saving throw against the user’s intelligence spell cast DC (8 + Proficiency bonus + Intelligence modifier). On a successful save the target takes 2d8 cold damage, on a fail the target takes half.

Players have not been in combat for a while for some recent quests and next session they will need to defend from multiple waves of soldiers that gets progressively harder.

In conclusion is the weapon balanced, and if it isn’t is it justified to give them it anyway so they have an increased chance of survival with this next encounter?

How does the Helm of Brilliance interact with Great Weapon Fighting?

The item Helm of Brilliance includes a feature that reads:

You can use an action and speak a Command Word to cause one weapon you are holding to burst into flames. […] When you hit with an Attack using the blazing weapon, the target takes an extra 1d6 fire damage. (DMG, 173)

Great Weapon Fighting reads:

When you roll a 1 or 2 on a damage die for an attack you make with a melee weapon that you are wielding with two hands, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll, even if the new roll is a 1 or a 2. (PHB, 72)

This question deals with what dice are affected by Great Weapon Fighting and it seems that the the feature was only intended to affect the weapons damage dice not extra dice from features like Sneak Attack or Divine Smite, or spells such as Hex. It seems that all of the weapon’s damage die, however, are affected and so weapons such as Frost Brand have their additional dice modified (1d6 cold damage in the case of Frost Brand).

In the case of Helm of Brilliance‘s flame effect does is the additional 1d6 fire damage affected by Great Weapon Fighting?

On one hand it seems like no because it is clearly a spell like effect rather than a natural part of the weapon. On the other hand the effect clearly modifies the weapon rather than the attack and so the additional damage could be considered a quality of the weapon.

Does Green-Flame Blade get Alchemical Savant bonus if you use Alchemist Supplies as improvised weapon?

The Alchemist’s Alchemical Savant ability states

Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Green-flame blade is not on the Alchemist’s spell list but it lists “a weapon” as the material component for the spell. This is presumably the weapon used in the attack.

If an Alchemist casts Green-Flame Blade using their alchemical tools (e.g., a beaker) as an improvised weapon attack, would it benefit from Alchemical Savant?

What would be a “good” build for a dual weapon battlemaster half-orc?

I’ve started playing DnD for the first time two months ago (hey, coronavirus).

My character is a half-orc fighter, currently level 3. His attributes are STR 19, DEX 14, CON 16, INT 9, WISDOM 10, CHA 11. I’d spent a lot of time thinking about him at first, and I had a clear image of him wielding a battleaxe and a warhammer when fighting, and I really liked that. But then, as a noob, I wanted to see what was a “good” fighter build. Unfortunately, most of what I found led me to the same conclusion: Two Weapon Fighting is good for five levels, then gradually gets wrecked in comparison to a Great Weapon Fighter. What’s more, as I chose the Battlemaster archetype, some number of my battle maneuvers require a bonus action, which take away my additional attack as a dual wielder. And, unfortunately, last session, I already got to experience the huge difference in damage output between me and my party’s Paladin (who’s also using the Great Weapon Fighting style).

Since then I’ve really started to think about what I should be going towards while keeping what I had in mind. So, my question is actually be two:

  • What kind of build and multiclassing should I be aiming for ? (mainly talking about the ASI and feats I should use, dip in Barbarian ?)

or

  • Should I instead ask my DM if I could re-work my character, mainly to select the Great Weapon Fighting style (and make my maneuvers more reliable) ?

Just to be clear, I’m not looking to optimize the hell out of my character. I’d just like to have a bit of insight on the options I have so that I don’t “feel left behind” as much as my party levels up. This is my first campaign, my first character, so I’d really, really like to keep playing him without him being a Fighter that doesn’t do his job correctly (I’m the only other melee guy in the party).

Thank you for your time.

Do creature feats like Angelic Weapons apply to any weapon used by the creature?

The example that comes to my mind is the planetar. It does a massive amount of damage for a CR16 creature. I was wondering, if you gave an adamantine greatsword to the planetar (which deals critical hits to objects), what would happen if it struck an object?

My worry is whether or not the Angelic Weapons bonus applies only to some magical divine sword carried by the planetar, or if it’s applied to any weapons used by the angel.

Normally it does 4d6+5d8+7 per single attack (not counting multi—attack). With an adamantine greatsword (which I’m guessing I can’t say it’s conjured with), would it do 8d6+10d8+7 damage to the object?

I want to use this for a wizard, who would Shapechange into a planetar, equip an adamantine greatsword, then attack some boats (by Ghosts of Saltmarsh standards, it could destroy most boats in two turns).

Here is the description for the ability:

Angelic Weapons: The planetar’s weapon attacks are magical. When the planetar hits with any weapon, the weapon deals an extra 5d8 radiant damage (included in the attack).

Confused about fighter’s Two Weapon Fighting Style

A fighter in a campaign I am running has the Two Weapon Fighting Style and I am having some trouble with finding details on how it works.

  • Does he have to wield two light weapons? Or can he use (for example) a sword and a battleaxe?

  • Can he strike two different targets within his range for one attack (e.g., sword attacks a goblin, off-hand weapon attacks another goblin)?

  • What exactly is the penalty — is it that the damage modifier only goes to weapon #2 and weapon #1 gets no damage modifier?