Can I connect grenades with a detonator and use it as a ranged weapon in combat?

We’ve been dipping into Starfinder and I find myself playing a mechanic. I love the idea of using grenades to their fullest advantage, it’s a fun, volatile weapon that turns up as loot too often not to make use of. However, as we level up the average grenade is not as useful as one-by-one weapons and so I thought about connecting them with a detonator and using that as a ranged weapon, or as a dropped weapon that I set off when at a safe distance. A sort of "grenade bomb".

But first, the facts:

Detonators: This conical device primes and detonates explosives (including grenades) with a push of a button. Programming a detonator to a specific package of explosives takes 1 minute, after which the detonator can be triggered in one of several ways. The detonator can be set to ignite its payload with the simple press of a button (no action), a four-digit command code (a move action), or a complex input method, such as scanning your retina or thumbprint (a full action). You choose the triggering method when setting the detonator. A detonator detonates its payload only if it is within 500 feet, but some detonators can make use of signal-boosting technologies at the risk of becoming vulnerable to countermeasures like signal jammers and other effects. Explosives have the same price, effect, and weight as grenades (see page 183). If you successfully set an explosive on a stationary object with a detonator using the Engineering skill, the explosive’s damage ignores half of the object’s hardness. (SCRB, 219)

And:

Grenades: Grenades are thrown weapons that detonate in an explosive radius when they reach the target…The DC of the save is equal to 10 + half the grenade’s item level + your Dexterity modifier. Any penalty you take to your attack roll also applies to this save DC. (SCRB, 183)

Ok, now, from these descriptions, I think it’s possible. The detonator is a little bit confusing because it talks about grenades and explosives as separate where explosives can damage a stationary object. So I wouldn’t be using this grenade bomb to damage an object specifically. It would be against creatures.

Questions, and I’m wondering if this might just be GM discretion:

  • Would this grenade bomb be a ranged weapon or something that I have to plan and place? I.E. Could it be prepared in advance (takes one minutes, but doesn’t specify if that’s in battle or beforehand) and used when needed?
  • How many grenades can be connected to a detonator? Would there be penalties to my attack roll? How would one calculate the save against the grenade bomb?

Thank you all so much!

Fantasy Grounds – Adding different attacks with one weapon

In the Fantasy grounds software: I am playing a ranger in PF2e and I am trying to understand how to apply my Hunter’s Edge: Flurry ability to weapons I own. I’ve imported a weapon into my inventory and it shows up in my action’s tab no problem. However since I’m looking to use this edge ability it doesn’t necessarily apply to all foes that I am fighting equally. So how do I apply two weapon-actions with different bonuses under my actions tab? and most importantly how do I link BOTH to the associated weapon without doing something silly like adding a "fake" weapon in my inventory?

You can see in the image that figured out how to add a second action, but it is not actively linked to the appropriate weapon. enter image description here

Alternately, is there just some toggle I can switch on and off to apply modifiers on the fly?

Is it possible to snatch a weapon directly from an enemy/monster?

As a point of clarification for this post, I’m just trying to figure out if it’s actually possible to take an enemy’s item directly from them during combat, all in the scope of one turn. Since Disarm doesn’t technically allow you to directly steal an item (it falls to the ground and opportunity attacks also seem debatable), is there an action or feature that allows you just take an enemy’s wielded item and put it in your hand in one fell swoop?

Is my accidental house rules on weapon damage in D&D 5e balaced?

TLDR: In my game, finesse and ranged weapons don’t get a stat damage bonus and Dueling gives the damage bonus to 1- and 2- handed weapons. Is this balanced?

Starting running a game for the first time in several years. Two of the players are new to D&D (a Warlock and a Bard). The other hasn’t played since 2nd edition (a Ranger).

During character creation, I gave them incorrect rules about weapon damage which I must have misremembered. I told them that Finesse and Ranged weapons don’t get a damage bonus, whereas other weapons get a strength bonus. The correct rule, having checked, is that Finesse and Ranged weapons get a damage bonus from dexterity.

Now, the Ranger player, remembering 2nd edition, gave his character a high dexterity for archery, but chose to have them wield a longsword with no shield. That means has base damage dice is the same as the bard with his rapier – both a d8. However, his bonuses are actually lower. At 1st level, he was a worse fighter than the bard!

After the first session, I took his player over the bonus and dual-weapon rules and checked if he wanted to keep using the longsword and not use a shield, and he did: he just chose to wield it two-handed for the higher damage dice. So I decided to keep my rules error a feature of the game. That way at least the Ranger gets a bonus on his damage dice, and the Bard does not.

I’m not sure why the Ranger wants to keep the longsword, I think he’s just got a strong image in his head from his 2nd edition Ranger characters. As a result, I also rejected the obvious compromise of letting the Ranger have a "longsword" that’s actually a rapier. I figured that might also cause problems with distributing magic items (is it a rapier? is it a sword?).

At 2nd level, the Ranger chose Duelling and, again, I’ve let him keep it as +2 damage with his longsword even though, strictly speaking, it’s not supposed to be used two-handed.

I haven’t explained to the players that I’ve got the rule wrong. Not out of fear of losing face but because it makes the party a little better balanced, and I don’t want the Bard claiming his +3 damage, putting him back in front of the Ranger. None of the other players has a rulebook.

I don’t believe this is in any way game breaking: it just gives the party a marginally lower damage output. So long as I tailor the encounters accordingly, I don’t see it as an issue. But I know D&D 5e is much better "mechanically balanced" that some older editions and I might have missed something. Is my approach here balanced and fair?

Does the bane magic weapon property work like greater magic weapon or weapon enhancement for DR

The weapon property bane is a wonderful boost to a weapon on the occasions where its the right bane. One effect is that the weapon enhancement is +2 than what the weapon states, so a +1 bane (human) sword is actually a a +3 weapon against humans. But when dealing with creatures that have DR, the difference enhancement levels matter for overcoming DR, and other sources like magic weapon greater while increasing the enhancement, do not affect DR.

from magic weapon greater

This bonus does not allow a weapon to bypass damage reduction aside from magic.

Since the weapon property doesnt have the same wording as the spell, my thoughts are that it would be effective against higher DR types, but I have nothing to stand on for this.

Can Booming Blade be cast with an Improvised Weapon without a cost? [duplicate]

In a bar brawl, the Eldritch Knight picks up a stool and smacks a nearby patron. Can they cast Booming Blade while doing so? The Material Components of the spell state:

Components: S, M (a melee weapon worth at least 1 sp)

Is the improvised weapon eligible for this attack? I’m not sure if the price of a stoll is listed somewhere, if it is then assume some other improvised weapon that has no listed value, like a tree branch or a single arrow.

There are 2 similar questions here and here, however the spell has been changed in errata since these questions were asked, and I am asking about a new part of the spell.

Do you get Hex Warrior’s Cha bonus with a two-handed Pact Weapon?

Hex Warrior says:

you can touch one weapon with which you are proficient and that lacks the two-handed quality. When you attack with that weapon you can use your Charisma for attack and damage rolls.

later the ability says:

This benefit extends to every weapon conjured with the Pact of Blades feature, no matter the type.

(emphasis mine)

Does this allow me to use my charisma with 2 handed weapons(provided it is my Pact Weapon and my Hex Warrior Blade)?

This question is not the same as Hex Blade Warrior & Pact of Blade. That one is asking how many weapons, I’m asking if type means 2 handed or something else(Slashing or Ranged for examples).

If you make a magic weapon your pact weapon, can you still summon other weapons?

The Pact of the Blade states:

You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. You can choose the form that this melee weapon takes each time you create it. You are proficient with it while you wield it. This weapon counts as magical for the Purpose of overcoming Resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.
[…]
You can transform one Magic Weapon into your pact weapon by performing a Special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a Short Rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. […]

Say I attune to a Flame Tongue (longsword), is that longsword now the only weapon I can summon through this feature? The Sage Advice makes it clear I cannot reform my Flame Tongue into a javelin, but could I just conjure a regular javelin that is not the Flame Tongue, as I could before I attuned to the magic weapon?

Does the Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature apply to a magic weapon that is transformed into your Pact Weapon?

The Hexblade Warlock’s Hex Warrior feature states (emphasis mine):

[…] If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon’s type.

Meanwhile, the Pact of the Blade Warlock feature states:

[…] You can transform one magic weapon into your pact weapon by performing a special ritual while you hold the weapon. You perform the ritual over the course of 1 hour, which can be done during a short rest. You can then dismiss the weapon, shunting it into an extradimensional space, and it appears whenever you create your pact weapon thereafter. […]

Does a magic weapon that you have transformed into your pact weapon benefit from Hex Warrior?
Does it count as a weapon you have conjured using Pact of the Blade?
Does the answer change if you shunt the weapon away and then make it appear afterwards?