How useful is the 5e ‘Wish’ spell (‘Basic Use’ version) for spell research?

The 5e Wish spell does, literally, whatever you wish, but for a price. The Basic Use version may be useful for instant spell research without the usual time / gold costs. Logically, one could use this Basic Wish to learn all the wizard spells lvl. 8 and lower. But what are the limits? To quote:

The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly Components. The spell simply takes effect.

Here are some possibilities:

  1. Casting ‘Wish’ may allow one to have a version of any existing / official spell (found in Player’s Handbook, Volo’s &/or Mordenkainen’s manuals). This exists as a memorized spell ‘slot’, uncast, in one’s mind. Wizards (class) could then write-scribe this spell, providing this was a wizard’s (spell-list) spell in the first place. This learning technique may also extend to some ritual spells, q.v.

  2. As the Basic Use of a ‘Wish’ spell does NOT require material components. As such, the caster of this spell can automatically gain one (1) fully transcribed non-magical version in a book (or scroll / carved tablet / scribed on a skull / whatever suits your fancy). Should this be a ‘wizard’ spell, the caster could then use this written version as though they had transcribed this themselves. Other wizards would need to endure the usual transcription-study-cost process from this origin material, as normal.

  3. This Basic Version of the spell vetoes any and all requirements! As such, any spell imaginable (of less than 8th level value) can be instantly scribed into a book. If it were considered a ‘wizard’ type spell others of that class could make use / transcribe it as usual. If it were a spell for any other list, those of the appropriate class could use this written spell to re-establish a new relationship with their deity, patron or other spell-delivery creature.

Off the cuff, the first one seems reasonable. The second version seems to be pushing boundaries a little (not sure why). The last one, drafting out Brand New Spells every day, seems totally implausible for a mere Basic Wish (perhaps a FULL wish could do this?) – yet i have no known RAW defence on this. It just seems like a bad idea to let a CR 11 ‘arch-mage’ pump out 300+ spells (of any class / up to 8th lvl) in any given year, risk free. But… why not?

Gathered Exchangers of Stackings… what say ye?

Is there a way (other than using a wish spell) for a Wizard to cast Ranger spells?

Using a wish spell you can duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower.

However..

That’s a pretty high lv spell for gaining the use of a 1-5 level Ranger spell. I couldn’t find a version of limited wish. And the feat Magic Initiate doesn’t seem to apply to Ranger’s spells.

Is there another way to cast 1 or 2 Ranger spells without dipping into the Ranger class? Specifically I am looking at Conjure Barrage and Swift Quiver. Mostly because I think it would be cool to launch a ton of darts like a Naruto style Ninja…and it would be unexpected from my wizard.

Worth noting we only use the hardcover books. No UA or 3rd party stuff please.

What’s the difference in Geas saying it can be removed by Wish?

The text for geas says the following about removing the spell:

A remove curse, greater restoration, or wish spell also ends it.

However, you can already use wish to replicate remove curse or greater restoration and thus end geas. It seems redundant.

What’s the difference if it didn’t mention using Wish? Is there a genuine mechanical difference that I’m missing?

Wish on a scroll: Who suffers the consequences?

If I create a scroll with the Wish spell and an other person uses it to do anything that would trigger the penalty (anything that is not replicating an 8th or lower level spell causes necrotic damage later and has a 33% chance of not being able to cast the spell ever again) who suffers the penalty? Wouldn’t the scroll-user technically not be the one casting the spell, given that it was stored in a scroll?

Was a “divine wish” spell ever mentioned in any published game materials?

Official or unofficial materials. Not necessarily a spell available to players; it could be a creature or item ability. Various people from the AD&D 2nd edition up to Planescape (primarily 90’s) seem to remember such a spell, but I have not been able to find any TSR materials or endorsed / published materials with such a spell.

When you use wish as a contingent or glyph spell, when do you get to specify the effect?

Contingency and glyph of warding allow you to store a spell as part of the casting. Both also states the stored spell does not take effect until it is triggered.

Contingency
… but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain circumstance occurs.

Glyph of warding
The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast.

When you cast wish as the stored spell, do you decide what the wish do before or after it is triggered?

Do resistances granted by scrolls of wish count against the magic item cap?

During Season 8 of the Adventurers’ League, Scrolls of Wish were relatively easy to acquire as a tier 3+ adventurer. Many characters who dipped Wizard or Sorcerer would purchase these scrolls to gain resistance to a damage type of their choice.

When Season 9 started, a new guidance was the to the FAQ regarding persistent effects. According the Adventurers’ League FAQ (v.9.1):

Items With Persistent Effects

You can only benefit from a magic item that grants the same permanent benefit once (e.g., tome of understanding, bag of beans, etc.). This guidance is retroactive. Further, items that bestowed a persistent effect (such as a manual of golems, via wishes from luck blades, etc.) count against that character’s Magic Item Limit for as long as they retain the benefit—even if they don’t own the item or it has lost its magical properties. You can choose to replace or abandon the item as normal, but in so doing, the benefits it conveyed (resistance to damage, ability score increases, etc.) are lost.

Do Scrolls of Wish that were used to acquire resistance to a damage type now count against a character’s Magic Item Limit, even though they’re consumable magic items?

Can the stress of wish prevent using wishes from other sources?

The stress of casting wish for creative effects has a 1/3 chance of preventing the caster from ever casting wish again. (There are plenty of cites all over RPG Exchange.) Does this preclude using wishes from sources that do not involve the PC casting wish?


Related: Does a character suffer negative effects from using a Wish spell cast from a magic item? — This question addresses an item that enables the PC “to cast the wish spell from it”.

Do the negative effects of wish apply to free wishes? — This question’s second bullet point is similar to my question, but is phrased as being able to use items’ properties that enable a PC to cast wish.

Does the wish-granting Efreeti from an Efreeti Bottle suffer wish stress? — This discusses whether an efreeti granting a wish suffers wish stress. This approaches my question: Can a PC that cannot cast wish due to the stress have their wish fulfilled by an efreeti or similar?

(This question arose from a dream I had last night: Dream-me took a ring that I had collected during my adventuring days. This was not a Ring of Three Wishes, rather a ring like the lamp in “Aladdin’s Wonderful Lamp” from Arabian Nights: The host vessel for a djinni that could grant wishes without numerical limit. I was negotiating with the djinni on the phrasing of a wish that would cancel the contagious aspect of SARS-CoV-2; the djinni told me that if I wished for that, I would never be able to use a wish ever again. I was willing to pay that price; wouldn’t you?)

How to practically handle the 33% chance to be unable to cast Wish ever again?

The description of the wish spell states:

Finally, there is a 33 percent chance that you are unable to cast wish ever again if you suffer this stress.

I’m trying to figure out how to handle this limitation. The rest of the question assumes that the caster is casting wish for purposes other than casting a level 1-8 spell.

My grasp of statistics is OK. My DM’s? Less so.

How I expect it works: every time I cast wish there is 33% chance I may never cast it again. But I want to cover the naïve questions I expect that my DM is going to have. For instance:

  1. I want to know if a caster is bound to not be able to cast wish anymore, meaning that in the best case after 33 casts without suffering the stress, the caster will definitely suffer it on the 34th cast.

  2. I would like to know who or what decides that 33 percent is achieved. Does a die have to be rolled? Must another random mechanism be used? And who triggers it: the DM or the player?

  3. If the DM/player wants to roll, can the roll be a d6, or must it be a d100? The spell says “33.0” percent, right? Not 1/3 (or 33.333… percent). So a d6 can’t be used, can it?

  4. Can feats, abilities or spells altering the roll be used?

Are there any ways to regain the ability to cast Wish after suffering the 33% chance to never be able to cast it again? [duplicate]

Are there any ways to restore your ability to cast Wish after suffering from the stress described in the final paragraph and losing your ability to cast it?

From the description:

The stress of casting this spell to produce any effect other than duplicating another spell weakens you. After enduring that stress, each time you cast a spell until you finish a long rest, you take 1d10 necrotic damage per level of that spell. This damage can’t be reduced or prevented in any way. In addition, your Strength drops to 3, if it isn’t 3 or lower already, for 2d4 days. For each of those days that you spend resting and doing nothing more than light activity, your remaining recovery time decreases by 2 days. Finally, there is a 33 percent chance that you are unable to cast wish ever again if you suffer this stress.