Can you avoid the stress penalty of Wish by using Astral Projection?

The wish spell is likely the most powerful and risky spells in Dungeons and Dragons. However, using it to do anything other that duplicate spells carries stress (and potentially losing the spell forever). Below I have quoted the relevant information:

The stress of casting this spell to produce any effect other than duplicating another spell weakens you. After enduring that stress, each time you cast a spell until you finish a long rest, you take 1d10 necrotic damage per level of that spell. This damage can’t be reduced or prevented in any way. In addition, your Strength drops to 3, if it isn’t 3 or lower already, for 2d4 days. For each of those days that you spend resting and doing nothing more than light activity, your remaining recovery time decreases by 2 days. Finally, there is a 33 percent chance that you are unable to cast wish ever again if you suffer this stress.

However, I want do know if these risks carry over to your mortal form, if you were under the effects of astral projection. Below I have quoted the relevant information:

Your astral body resembles your mortal form in almost every way, replicating your game statistics and possessions.

Your astral form is a separate incarnation. Any damage or other effects that apply to it have no effect on your physical body, nor do they persist when you return to it.

So would casting wish while under astral projection subject your body to stress and possibility of losing the spell wish, after astral projection has ended?

What’s the historical interaction between the Wish spell and increasing ability scores?

I vaguely recall Wishes in 1e affecting ability score increases going something like this:

  • a single Wish spell could increase any ability score to 16
  • you needed another Wish spell to get to 18
  • then it was one Wish spell per point over that (with like 5 Wishes needed to get to 18/00 STR)

But now, looking through the 1e DMG, I can’t find any of this. Ideally, I’d like information on how a Wish spell would interact with ability score increases for each edition of D&D.

What’s the historical interaction between the Wish spell and increasing ability scores?

Can you Wish for a Glyph of Warding with an 8th Level Spell? [duplicate]

If you have access to Wish, you can use this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly Components. The spell simply takes effect.

And Glyph of Warding specifies that you can store a prepared spell of 3rd Level(8th level for up cast) or lower in the glyph by casting it as part of creating the glyph.

Does Wish simply allow you to duplicate the full effect of both the spell of Glyph of Warding as well as the spell you would have prepared, or as per using Wish to create a glyph, would you be left with a Glyph of Warding that has no spell stored in it?

I have yet to find any mention of the interaction between these two spells other than storing Wish into a glyph, no where have I seen mentioned the question of if you can Wish for a Glyph of Warding pre-loaded with something like Simulacrum.

Alternatively, would it work, but just end up requiring you to spend the 12 hours casting time to load Simulacrum in the Glyph and still require you to have it under your prepared spell list?

How useful is the 5e ‘Wish’ spell (‘Basic Use’ version) for spell research?

The 5e Wish spell does, literally, whatever you wish, but for a price. The Basic Use version may be useful for instant spell research without the usual time / gold costs. Logically, one could use this Basic Wish to learn all the wizard spells lvl. 8 and lower. But what are the limits? To quote:

The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don’t need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly Components. The spell simply takes effect.

Here are some possibilities:

  1. Casting ‘Wish’ may allow one to have a version of any existing / official spell (found in Player’s Handbook, Volo’s &/or Mordenkainen’s manuals). This exists as a memorized spell ‘slot’, uncast, in one’s mind. Wizards (class) could then write-scribe this spell, providing this was a wizard’s (spell-list) spell in the first place. This learning technique may also extend to some ritual spells, q.v.

  2. As the Basic Use of a ‘Wish’ spell does NOT require material components. As such, the caster of this spell can automatically gain one (1) fully transcribed non-magical version in a book (or scroll / carved tablet / scribed on a skull / whatever suits your fancy). Should this be a ‘wizard’ spell, the caster could then use this written version as though they had transcribed this themselves. Other wizards would need to endure the usual transcription-study-cost process from this origin material, as normal.

  3. This Basic Version of the spell vetoes any and all requirements! As such, any spell imaginable (of less than 8th level value) can be instantly scribed into a book. If it were considered a ‘wizard’ type spell others of that class could make use / transcribe it as usual. If it were a spell for any other list, those of the appropriate class could use this written spell to re-establish a new relationship with their deity, patron or other spell-delivery creature.

Off the cuff, the first one seems reasonable. The second version seems to be pushing boundaries a little (not sure why). The last one, drafting out Brand New Spells every day, seems totally implausible for a mere Basic Wish (perhaps a FULL wish could do this?) – yet i have no known RAW defence on this. It just seems like a bad idea to let a CR 11 ‘arch-mage’ pump out 300+ spells (of any class / up to 8th lvl) in any given year, risk free. But… why not?

Gathered Exchangers of Stackings… what say ye?

Is there a way (other than using a wish spell) for a Wizard to cast Ranger spells?

Using a wish spell you can duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower.

However..

That’s a pretty high lv spell for gaining the use of a 1-5 level Ranger spell. I couldn’t find a version of limited wish. And the feat Magic Initiate doesn’t seem to apply to Ranger’s spells.

Is there another way to cast 1 or 2 Ranger spells without dipping into the Ranger class? Specifically I am looking at Conjure Barrage and Swift Quiver. Mostly because I think it would be cool to launch a ton of darts like a Naruto style Ninja…and it would be unexpected from my wizard.

Worth noting we only use the hardcover books. No UA or 3rd party stuff please.

What’s the difference in Geas saying it can be removed by Wish?

The text for geas says the following about removing the spell:

A remove curse, greater restoration, or wish spell also ends it.

However, you can already use wish to replicate remove curse or greater restoration and thus end geas. It seems redundant.

What’s the difference if it didn’t mention using Wish? Is there a genuine mechanical difference that I’m missing?

Wish on a scroll: Who suffers the consequences?

If I create a scroll with the Wish spell and an other person uses it to do anything that would trigger the penalty (anything that is not replicating an 8th or lower level spell causes necrotic damage later and has a 33% chance of not being able to cast the spell ever again) who suffers the penalty? Wouldn’t the scroll-user technically not be the one casting the spell, given that it was stored in a scroll?

Was a “divine wish” spell ever mentioned in any published game materials?

Official or unofficial materials. Not necessarily a spell available to players; it could be a creature or item ability. Various people from the AD&D 2nd edition up to Planescape (primarily 90’s) seem to remember such a spell, but I have not been able to find any TSR materials or endorsed / published materials with such a spell.

When you use wish as a contingent or glyph spell, when do you get to specify the effect?

Contingency and glyph of warding allow you to store a spell as part of the casting. Both also states the stored spell does not take effect until it is triggered.

Contingency
… but the contingent spell doesn’t come into effect. Instead, it takes effect when a certain circumstance occurs.

Glyph of warding
The spell being stored has no immediate effect when cast in this way. When the glyph is triggered, the stored spell is cast.

When you cast wish as the stored spell, do you decide what the wish do before or after it is triggered?

Do resistances granted by scrolls of wish count against the magic item cap?

During Season 8 of the Adventurers’ League, Scrolls of Wish were relatively easy to acquire as a tier 3+ adventurer. Many characters who dipped Wizard or Sorcerer would purchase these scrolls to gain resistance to a damage type of their choice.

When Season 9 started, a new guidance was the to the FAQ regarding persistent effects. According the Adventurers’ League FAQ (v.9.1):

Items With Persistent Effects

You can only benefit from a magic item that grants the same permanent benefit once (e.g., tome of understanding, bag of beans, etc.). This guidance is retroactive. Further, items that bestowed a persistent effect (such as a manual of golems, via wishes from luck blades, etc.) count against that character’s Magic Item Limit for as long as they retain the benefit—even if they don’t own the item or it has lost its magical properties. You can choose to replace or abandon the item as normal, but in so doing, the benefits it conveyed (resistance to damage, ability score increases, etc.) are lost.

Do Scrolls of Wish that were used to acquire resistance to a damage type now count against a character’s Magic Item Limit, even though they’re consumable magic items?