Can a familiar give orders to minions of their wizard?

A wizard has a familiar and some other minions. Let’s go with a summoned monster and a non-intelligent undead minion. Can the familiar give commands to these other minions?

Does it matter if the wizard is present? (Like if they get teleported away) Does it matter if the wizard is conscious? Does it matter if the familiar can speak? Does it matter if how the wizard is controlling the undead (create undead vs command undead)?

Any other edge cases one can think of?

Is a familiar compelled when their wizard is?

I have a party and an aboleth dominated them (only two players present). The aboleth didn’t do anything to the wizard’s familiar. Does the wizard’s familiar get affected by the compulsion effect too? Would a familiar always know if their wizard was affected by a compulsion? (In my case the aboleth was out of view and hearing when casting)

In play I ruled that the familiar could act freely, as it had a reasonable intelligence score (Int 8 for wiz level 5). It tried to save its wizard but failed. Eventually the aboleth told the wizard to reign in their familiar. Now the party has a new subterranean "quest giver."

Acquiring a spellbook without being a Wizard

Is there any way for an arcane spell-casting class other than wizard to obtain and use a spellbook without multi-classing into wizard?

I’m interested in this because a campaign my group is currently playing is in the process of switching into 5th edition from Pathfinder. I’m currently playing a Magus and (tentatively) switching into Fighter (Eldritch Knight). Problem is magical research is a large part of the character’s fluff and I’m not sure how to do that as a spontaneous caster.

Conditions:

I don’t want to drop the swordplay (I dual-wield with the War Caster feat), I’d like to have access to the spell Misty Step, and evocation spells at the very least. I’m not beyond dropping Eldritch Knight, though this seems to be the best fit so far for other fluff-related reasons. Bottom line: I’m a gish.

I’d also like to avoid Divine classes, as they don’t fit the fluff of the character.

Options I’ve considered:

I’ve already picked up the Ritual Caster feat, so I can expand my library of spells that way (though only those tagged as rituals). I’m also aware of the Magic Initiate feat but this doesn’t grant a spellbook. I could go wizard and gear myself towards physical combat, but that is obviously not an optimal choice. Multi-classing is also out, more so out of personal preference than anything; I’m not going to write it off completely, though. (I’m still interested in finding a method that doesn’t involve wizard levels.) In the end, flavour is more important than optimization.

After taking a look at Warlock (with Pact of the Tome and the invocation Book of Ancient Secrets) I don’t see much difference between that and the Ritual Caster feat. They both grant a book, but only allow Rituals¹. As a Human character the feat is much easier to pick up than investing in a 3 level dip that weakens my main class.


Note: I’m aware that, without the DMG, this may be a bit pre-emptive. I won’t be accepting any answers (unless there is a definite, by-the-book, answer) until after it’s released.


  1. Player’s Handbook, page 110, “Eldritch Invocations”, “Book of Ancient Secrets”, emphasis mine:

    On your adventures, you can add other ritual spells to your Book of Shadows.

Which class should an armored Wizard multi-class with, and in what order?

For a Wizard who plans to be in battle, what factors should be considered when deciding between taking a level or two of Fighter or of Cleric, and when?

Fighter 1 would give the heavy armor proficiency and the proficiency on CON saves, and seems like a good way to go.

Cleric 1 would also give heavy armor proficiency, proficiency on WIS saves, and progresses the spell slots. L1 Cleric healing (and other) spells could be cast from higher level slots making this a nice “bonus” set of spells to have available.

I realize there are trade-offs and it’s not a factual question to ask which is better, but are there factors I’m failing to take into consideration?

Is there an argument for taking the first level of Wizard first? It seems like you lose out on more than you gain that way.

(If it matters, we’ll start playing at Level 3)

Should a high elf wizard use weapons instead of cantrips?

As a new DM I’m running my first adventure for my kids (LMoP). My daughter took the high elf wizard and she was wondering whether she should use weapons instead of her cantrips when she runs out of spell slots.

Indeed, high elf being proficient with weapons, she could use a bow who does 1d8+2, adding also the modifier to the attack roll, or a sword instead of shocking grasp for example… When cantrips don’t get any modifiers.

Not really sure what to answer her. Thanks ahead!

Looking for an old adventure module – Heroes explore a tower and find a trapped wizard

I’m looking for an old adventure module and I can’t remember the name.

This is what I remember:

  • For AD&D 1e, and may have been a DM’s Guild publication

  • For low level characters, not more than 5th

  • Wizard is trapped in a magic circle and begs for help

  • One room is a "refrigerator" with a bound ice-elemental to keep it cold

  • One room has a pet basilisk, and anti-stoning spectacles hanging outside the door

  • Magical "elevator" that goes to every floor of the tower, and one floor is "secret"

  • I think the cover art was a B&W drawing of a lone medieval type tower, with lightning bolts flashing around it. The perspective has the viewer looking up at the tower from the ground level.

Can an Order of Scribes wizard cast ‘touch’ spells through Manifest Mind?

If I wanted to cast bestow curse via the spectral mind from the Order of Scribes’ Manifest Mind ability on an enemy adjacent to it, would I be able to?

Manifest Mind lets you cast spells ‘as if you were in the spectral mind’s space’, but I’m not quite sure how that interacts with touch spells, given the mind itself is "intangible" (or if that even matters, since technically the spell isn’t saying the mind is the one casting it, and my wizard 50 feet away definitely can’t touch that creature).

(Note that the language of casting through Manifest Mind is not the same as the language used for find familiar, which explicitly specifies touch spells.)

What non-component materials are required for wizard spells?

I am currently playing a wizard, and trying to plan ahead. I am making the assumption that all published spells are common and known to him, so while he cannot cast them yet, he is aware of them all, and how they work.

As such he is planning ahead, trying to gather whatever he can to make those spells work when (if) he ever learns to cast them.

Examples:

Scrying (Divination, level 4)

Items belonging to a potential target: likeness or picture; possession or garment; body part (lock of hair, nail etc)

Teleport (Conjuration, level 7)

Items from a location: associated object taken within the last 6 months

Dream (Illusion, level 5)

Items belonging to a potential target: body part (lock of hair, nail etc)

Infernal calling (Conjuration, level 5)

Items belonging to a devil: talisman

Animate dead (Necromancy, level 3)

Something to animate: pile of bones; corpse of a medium or small humanoid

I have been through all the spells that I can find, but my question is: are there any items I have missed that are not material components, but have a specified positive effect on the spell in the same way as the above items.

I only care about the wizard spell list using all official sources (including optional spells such as from TGtE and dunamancy from EGtW).

Does a wizard need to hold a component pouch or focus in one hand in order for it to work?

One of my PCs is a (weird) wizard who is frequently switching quickly between items—one turn he’s wielding a quarterstaff two-handed, the next he’s got a component pouch and a dagger, and after that, he’s going back to the two-handed quarterstaff to prepare for an attack of opportunity.

We often find ourselves in situations where we’re not sure if the rules on action economy actually allow for him to cast some of these spells. For clarification, this question is two-fold:

  • If a focus is merely worn, can a wizard still cast his spells?
  • If it fits, can the wizard hold a component or focus in the same hand that performs somatic components?