Does the Psi Warrior Telekinetic movement let you move an item you’re standing on?

as title, the telekinetic movement option says "One loose object that is Large or smaller or one willing creature other than yourself", does that mean that if say, i placed my shield on the ground, stood on it and used telekinetic movement i could indirectly move 30 feet in any direction by moving the shield? i’m asking because the definition of "Loose Object" is kinda murky. i interpreted it as "an object that is not bound or being held".

TL:DR can i use telekinetic movement to prop fly a la half life 2?

What happens when you wear armor you’re not proficient in?

What penalties or restrictions does a creature have when they don armor they’re non proficient in?

For example, picture a newly adventurous (level 1) Dwarf Barbarian (18 Strength, 10 Dexterity) who has inherited a set of Full Plate armor. He’s only Trained up to Medium Armor, but he feels obligated to don it. What are the results? What if he still wears this armor at level 10 (assuming he never takes the Armor Proficiency Feat)?

This is generally a question to clarify related rules, but it has the possibility to come up. For instance, said Barbarian may invest in Feats that give benefits when hit or critically hit. Additionally, you could ‘equip’ the enemy Wizard you’ve captured to add to your restraints.

If you’re unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

In the PHB, it says that three death saving throw failures means you die; taking any damage causes 1 failure, and a critical hit causes 2 failures. But the unconscious condition says that attacks against an unconscious character have advantage and auto-crit if they’re within 5 feet.

That seems really tough — it almost guarantees that you’ll die if hit twice if one is melee, and on top of that if you’re hit once and not stabilized on your next turn you have a 45% chance of getting your third failure from the saving throw.

Am I correctly reading the rules? If you’re unconscious and making death saving throws, and an attack from within 5 feet of you hits you, does it cause 2 failed death saves?

Do you need a free hand for your holy symbol if you’re wearing it visibly?

I’ve been creating a Paladin who uses the Defense fighting style while wielding two weapons (instead of the more common Dueling style with weapon and shield). However, I was worried that spell components would make this too difficult because the character wouldn’t be able to use a shield emblazoned with a holy symbol as their spellcasting focus. However, I reread the section on holy symbols and it says the following:

A cleric or paladin can use a holy symbol as a spellcasting focus, as described in chapter 10. To use the symbol in this way, the caster must hold it in hand, wear it visibly, or bear it on a shield. [PHB pg. 151, emphasis added]

By my reading of this, even absent a shield, the caster does NOT need a free hand for their focus. Simply wearing it on a chain outside their armor or clothing (or even affixing it to the outside of their armor) would be sufficient.

This surprised me, so I double-checked the material components section:

Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in chapter 5) in place of the components specified for a spell… A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components, but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components. [PHB pg. 203]

At first glance, its seems that the statements "A character can use… a spellcasting focus… in place of the components specified for a spell" and "A spellcaster must have a hand free to access these components" would logically mean that a spellcaster must have a hand free to use a spellcasting focus.

However, is this a case of "specific beats general"? Using an arcane focus requires a free hand because it follows the general rule from pg. 203, but a holy symbol doesn’t as long as it’s visibly worn as written in the more specific rule on pg. 151?

(Related: Do these spellcasting foci from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything have to be held in a hand?)

The best discount possible on the kicks you’re looking for

Despite or because of the radical change in design, the adidas ultra boost 19 sale has yet to fully hit the ground running, but with the help of its now growing list of collaborators, the silhouette may see to a bit of a time in the sneaker spotlight. Once again recruiting the talents of one of their many long-time friends, the Three Stripes has given full reign to the noteworthy Japanese label NEIGHBORHOOD, allowing them to add in their signature branding in replacement of the German brand’s own. Cages, as easily the most standout modification, are sprawled with their namesake in perpetuity, a maximal touch up that near shrouds the logo hits regardless of their raised execution.
</br></br>
Shoe Palace’s admirable run in the retail game dates back over a quarter century as the family-owned business opened their first location in the Bay Area back in 1993. In fact, 2018 highlighted that big 25th Anniversary milestone with a stream of collaborations with every footwear brand on the market – and they’re continuing their efforts with a special project with adidas Originals. Once the apple of every sneakerhead’s eye, the adidas nmd r1 black has evolved into a must-have essential for its clean design and unmatched comfort, but they’re giving it their own personal touch with black and gold detailing with 3M reflective mid-stripe.
</br></br>
Although the output of the adidas falcon shoes has definitely cooled off in recent months, the lifestyle model has made another appearance in this brand new two-toned colorway by taking on a minimal “tuxedo” look. The 90s-inspired silhouette utilizes a white mesh material for its foundation, and contrasts its laces, lower overlays and chunky midsole with a stark black tone to achieve that suited look. Despite the suggested black-tie moniker, this Falcon is dressed for the outdoors as it features a toothy outsole for trail-route adaptation with tougher nylons and hiking-style laces.
</br></br>
adidas is shaking up their legendary ZX lineage as of late. Many of you are already familiar with remixes of the classic running line in the adidas zx 8000, but now the three stripes are adding their latest technology to further blend the past and present. The adidas ZX 8000 Boost takes the ever-bouncy cushioning system and hides it inside a rather Tubular looking outsole. The aesthetic of the shoe is an interesting one for sure, thanks to a clear heel counter rooted in ZX history that has a removable inner bootie complete with an entire heel’s worth of Boost technology. This vibrant Bright Yellow pair will be hard to miss too, as the black overlay and sunshine shade adds to the sleek design.
</br></br>
So, adidas are joining the 4/20 party with some adidas nizza slip on that feature stash pouches. Rather than hide them, these bulging pockets thread through the laces above the tongue. And, clear plastic windows reveal everything inside.Shaggy green suede lows with purple detailing? No one is getting fooled here. There is also a ‘high’ version in all-white with cross detailing and Trefoils, which according to adidas is a nod to Generation X. So they say.
[Image: withft0341.jpg]

When using Fly and you’re knocked out, do you fall?

I was running my game today and came across a situation which got the group into a heated debate. What happened was the witch was flying along using their fly hex 20 feet up in the air and got knocked out due to damage.

The players were arguing that the spell was no longer active and thus the feather fall aspect of fly would kick in and no fall damage. They even argued that it would behave similar to air walk and they would be resting in the air. Despite the spell/hex having a duration, and not a concentration. I ruled that since flying requires concentration similar to walking, and you fall down when you are knocked out, and thus you fall. The fly is still in effect however.

Please confirm or deny that my interpretation of the rules is correct. I like having 3rd party confirmation when making rulings on things.

What happens if you’re frightened of a hidden or invisible creature?

A Frightened creature suffers the following effects:

  • A frightened creature has disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while the source of its fear is within line of sight.
  • The creature can’t willingly move closer to the source of its fear.

An Invisible creature has the following benefits:

  • An invisible creature is impossible to see without the aid of magic or a special sense. For the purpose of hiding, the creature is heavily obscured. The creature’s location can be detected by any noise it makes or any tracks it leaves.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have disadvantage, and the creature’s attack rolls have advantage.

What happens if the source of a creature’s fear is invisible or hidden?

More concretely:

  • A Wizard uses Cause Fear to frighten an Ogre, then puts on a Cloak of Invisibility. On the Ogre’s turn, he tries smack a Fighter standing next to him. Does the Ogre have disadvantage on the attack roll?
  • On her next turn, the Wizard Hides from the Ogre. When the Ogre tries to smack the Fighter again, is anything different?

Here are two related questions that may help answer this one:

  • This question asks if the frightened creature can avert or close their eyes to avoid the disadvantage. The answers articulate the difference between line of sight and being able to see a creature. Does anything change if the source of the fear is invisible?
  • This question asks if the second bullet point of the frightened condition allows a frightened creature to “supernaturally” detect the location of the source of its fears. Would the first bullet point of the frightened condition allow a frightened creature to supernaturally detect the presence of its fears?

Do you add your proficiency bonus when attacking with the Sun Blade if you’re proficient with shortswords only?

The Sun Blade mentions proficiency twice in its description.

The first one is about being proficient with shortswords or longswords:

If you are proficient with shortswords or longswords, you are proficient with the sun blade.

The second one is about proficiency with a longsword:

Proficiency with a longsword allows you to add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll for any attack you make with it.

So what happens if you are proficient with shortswords but not longswords? Do you add your proficiency bonus to the attack roll or not? The first one assumes “yes” since you “are proficient with the sun blade”, but the second one is about longsword specifically. Is the second one just redundant?

Can Minor Illusion/Silent Image be used to make it look like you’re about to cast other spells, to waste enemy Counterspells or Dispels?

Can the “Minor Illusion” cantrip or “Silent Image” spell be used to emulate the casting of other spells?

Thus hopefully tricking another spell caster into wasting a 3rd lvl or higher spell slot to cast “Counterspell” or “Dispel”?

If you have played any spellcaster capable of casting Counterspell you know every time someone announces what spell they are casting like a well placed “Fireball” you or your foe jumps right up screaming “Counterspell”. So far I have seen no one describe the visual appearance of the casting of a spell any spell other than a DM before/after announcing the spell´s name and level.

I’m specifically thinking of using the cantrip to emulate the casting of a different spell, not the effect. Just enough of a deception attempt to look like a spell is starting to complete casting, to make another spellcaster react.

Intended Examples:

  • A ball of fire to emulate Fireball or a similar imagery like a bright glow at the tip of the PCs pointing finger to emulate the casting of said spell or even “Delayed Fireblast Fireball”.

  • Covering yourself in illusory flames to emulate “Investiture of Flame”.

  • Making your hand glow brightly to emulate “Sunbeam”.

  • A levitating disk of light to emulate “Portal”

I expect that in most of these cases an opposed or contested ability check would be required from one or both spell casters.

At a 60ft distance (maximum range for Counterspell) you would not hear the verbal incantations nor see the somatic movements very clearly if at all. So, the best indication would be any visible change like a glowing hand or finger. “Minor Illusion” only has a Vocal and a Material (a bit of fleece). “Fireball” (for example) has a Vocal (that would not be easy to heard), the Material (tiny ball of sulfur or bat guano) would be in your closed hand/fist (unable to be seen), and the Somatic component could be made mockingly or completely improvised. So, by making your finger glow, you could fool another spellcaster into thinking you are casting “Fireball”.