The whirpool application of the Control Water spell leads to several questions regarding creatures caught in it


As written, the whirlpool usage of the Control Water spell says:

Whirlpool. This effect requires a body of water at least 50 feet square and 25 feet deep. You cause a whirlpool to form in the center of the area. The whirlpool forms a vortex that is 5 feet wide at the base, up to 50 feet wide at the top, and 25 feet tall. Any creature or object in the water and within 25 feet of the vortex is pulled 10 feet toward it. A creature can swim away from the vortex by making a Strength (Athletics) check against your spell save DC.

When a creature enters the vortex for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it must make a Strength saving throw. On a failed save, the creature takes 2d8 bludgeoning damage and is caught in the vortex until the spell ends. On a successful save, the creature takes half damage, and isn’t caught in the vortex. A creature caught in the vortex can use its action to try to swim away from the vortex as described above, but has disadvantage on the Strength (Athletics) check to do so.

The first time each turn that an object enters the vortex, the object takes 2d8 bludgeoning damage; this damage occurs each round it remains in the vortex.

Are creatures or objects in the water and within 25′ of the vortex automatically pulled 10′ toward it? Do they continue to be pulled 10′ further toward the center of the vortex every round they are in it? Is a creature or object caught in the vortex also pulled down toward the bottom? On a failed save, are they caught for the entire duration of the spell, with no more chance at saves, or until they can swim free of it? On a failed save, does a creature continue to take 2d8 bludgeoning damage every round they are in the vortex? Can the whirlpool be cast so that it is completely underwater? Also, can the whirlpool be cast ‘upside down’ so the widest part is at the bottom?