What are the rules around retrying failed scry attempts?


The rules for Scry state that.

On a successful save, the target isn’t affected, and you can’t use this spell against it again for 24 hours.

However this seems a bit ambiguous. Can that player not use the spell or the party? Does the source of the scry matter?

For instance, a party who have a scrying eye magical item. A Scrying Eye is an item that allows a person to cast the Scrying spell for up to ten minutes at a spell DC of 15. It can only be used once per day, and then cannot be used again until the next dawn.

The item is based off this crystal ball

The typical crystal ball, a very rare item, is about 6 inches in diameter. While touching it, you can cast the scrying spell (save DC 15) with it.

I have lowered the spell DC from the original to account for my item not requiring attunement.

and 2 magic users both with Scry.

If player A uses the scrying eye and fails, can they then cast scry themselves again as it is in effect the item that cast the spell and not the player? Can player B also attempt to cast scry?