What happens if you give away a Artifact with a Hearthstone?

If a person has an artifact with one or more hearthstones and for some reason decide to give it away to someone else what happens? Can another exalted attune the artifact and keep the hearthstone from the previous owner in the item? Will it work just the same for the new owner?

I would appreciate references to the rules, but that is not strictly necessary. If there is no reference to the rules I want an argument for why it should be this way.