What happens to a thrown weapon after it hits or miss?


Patty the Chatty Monk throws her handaxe to a growling wolf. It hits!
So… what happens?
This question is asked for the intent of further understanding the Object Interaction rule and also to add flavor to combat encounters. What happens to a thrown weapon after it is used?

On a hit: does it fall to the ground near the target’s feet? Does it impale/latch/stick to the target? What about armored targets?

On a miss: does it land on the ground near the target’s feet? Or does it travel the maximum distance (assuming there’s nothing blocking its path) in a straight direction before landing? Can it accidentally hit a different target?

In any case, can anyone pick it up and use it again?