What happens to an abjurer’s Arcane Ward when they fail the saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail?


An abjuration wizard has the Arcane Ward class feature (PHB, p. 115):

Starting at 2nd level, you can weave magic around yourself for protection. When you cast an abjuration spell of 1st level or higher, you can simultaneously use a strand of the spell’s magic to create a magical ward on yourself that lasts until you finish a long rest. The ward has hit points equal to twice your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Whenever you take damage, the ward takes the damage instead. If this damage reduces the ward to 0 hit points, you take any remaining damage.

A Banshee (MM, p. 23) has the Wail action:

Wail (1/Day). The banshee releases a mournful wail, provided that she isn’t in sunlight. This wail has no effect on constructs and undead. All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw. On a failure, a creature drops to 0 hit points. On a success, a creature takes 10 (3d6) psychic damage.

If an abjuration wizard who has an Arcane Ward active fails their saving throw against a Banshee’s Wail, they would drop to 0 hit points. What happens to their ward?

  • Does it drop to 0 hit points instead of the wizard (meaning the wizard does not drop to 0 hit points)? The Wail ability is not damage (if you fail the save), whereas the Arcane Ward specifically mentions damage, so I assume this isn’t how it works…
  • Does it disappear when the wizard drops to 0 hit points? I don’t think anything about the Banshee’s Wail or dropping to 0 hit points generally would make it disappear…
  • Does it remain active? I’m assuming this is the most likely answer, given my above reasoning…