what happens too both ends of the spell fabricate?

if you cast fabricate and target more raw materials than needed for what you create, what happens to the excess material(casting it on a 120ft cube of forest and turning it into a single chair)? Furthermore, the spell doesn’t specify where the created item would be or any restrictions on it, would the created item have to be within the same 120ft cube or something else? (eg 100 miles in the air, behind a corner, or inside of another creature)

Choose raw materials that you can see within range. You can fabricate a Large or smaller object (contained within a 10-foot cube, or eight connected 5-foot cubes), given a sufficient quantity of raw material.