What happens when an Enlarged Creature dies?


Enlarge says it works on both creatures and objects. The spell doesn’t specify what happens when a creature dies and the way I understand it is that a living, breathing creature becomes an object when it dies since objects are neither living, nor breathing.

So does the creature become a new object of the size it originally had or does the object carry over the Enlarge status of the creature and within the minute returns to normal size?

I can see both things happening, within reason. What I’m looking to do is Enlarge a critter, kill it, and take it back to our hosts to eat, so I’m wondering what would happen en route to the cooking pot.