What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid?


The mounted combatant feat (PHB 168) allows someone to "force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead."

Suppose I am playing on a grid. Let E be enemies without reach/ranged weapons. M be the spaces a large mount occupies. And R be the space I occupy while riding the mount.

$ \begin{array}{|l|l|r|} \hline \text{E} & \ \hline \text{E} & \text{M} & \text{R}\ \hline \text{E} & \text{M} & \text{M} \ \hline \end{array} $

What happens when I redirect an attack with mounted combatant but I am outside the reach of their weapon on a grid?