Whats happens when a caster’s soul returns to his polymorphed body by the effect of Magic Jar?


Consider the following sequence of actions:

  • A caster casts Magic Jar and his souls travel to the chosen container
  • The caster manages to possess an NPS’s body. The caster’s class features are retained in the new body, together with the original WIS, INT and CHA scores.
  • The caster in the new body casts True Polymorph on the original body and transforms it into a dragon (for example)
  • The caster makes is soul travel back to the original, polymorphed body.

Now, what happens to the casters’ class features? Are they retained? Is there any difference between this course of actions and simply casting True Polymorph on self?