Would the spell Disintegrate affect a carried creature?

During a recent D&D 5e session, a Retriever picked up a player character and started to move, using this ability:

If the paralyzed creature is Medium or smaller, the retriever can pick it up as part of the retriever’s move and walk or climb with it at full speed. (Mordenkainen’s Tome of Foes)

Another player character then cast Disintegrate on the Retriever. The text of disintegrate includes:

A creature targeted by this spell must make a Dexterity saving throw. On a failed save, the target takes 10d6 + 40 force damage. The target is disintegrated if this damage leaves it with 0 hit points. A disintegrated creature and everything it is wearing and carrying, except magic items, are reduced to a pile of fine gray dust. (Basic Rules, pg. 233)

If the Retriever was successfully disintegrated, would the character being carried also be disintegrated?