Do the Unearthed Arcana Tunnel Fighter Fighting Style and the Arcane Archer Fighter’s Grasping Arrow features trigger when standing from prone?

The Light, Dark, Underdark! Unearthed Arcana includes the Tunnel Fighter Fighting Style which states:

[…] As a bonus action, you can enter a defensive stance that lasts until the start of your next turn. While in your defensive stance, you can make opportunity attacks without using your reaction, and you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against a creature that moves more than 5 feet while within your reach.

And the Arcane Archer Fighter’s Grasping Arrow Arcane Shot feature states:

[…] The creature hit by the arrow takes an extra 2d6 poison damage, its speed is reduced by 10 feet, and it takes 2d6 slashing damage the first time on each turn it moves 1 foot or more without teleporting […]

What happens if the creature in question is currently prone, and stands from prone? Does this activate the Tunnel Fighter’s opportunity attack? Does this activate the 2d6 poison damage from Grasping Arrow?


Note I am aware that the following Q/A already exists:

  • Does standing up from prone trigger the damage from Booming Blade?

But I was told in my answer to another question that I cannot generalize answers there to conclude that standing from prone does not count as moving. So I am asking these separately instead.

I wanted to ask the question “Does standing from prone count as moving?” but was told that “There is no reason for the question “Does X count as Y?” to have a consistent, universally applicable answer.” and so have asked this instead.

Can any player character features alter the base stats of weapons?

Some spells, like Elemental Weapon and Magic Weapon, change base stats of weapons. Are there any player character features that are not spells that alter the base stats of weapons?

Stats being any properties, Damage die size/type, magical or not, +1 +2 +3 etc.

I’m not asking to solve any particular problem, just out of curiosity.

I’m not looking for a list of all the effects that do so, just a simple yes/no backed up with at least one example. I’m looking for RAW and official examples. Please no UA.

Should users know advanced and low priority features of the app?

Financial apps have lot of features, most of these features are nice-to-have features (e.g. changing PIN CODE, reports of income/outcome.. ) and advance features which few people may need (e.g. paying very specific bills, tracking selected transactions…)

Most of the users don’t know that the app has this kind of features and are simply using main functions.

Should designer try to make users know that this kind of features are available? In other words does user need to know about feature he/she will never use or use very seldom?

What counts as “one object” for the Illusion wizard’s Illusory Reality and Malleable Illusions features?

I DM for a player who is considering creating a School of Illusion Wizard. They have correctly noted that many things about illusions in the game are open to interpretation, and have asked me to let me know how I would rule on several interactions, in the interest of managing their own expectations. The following question asks about one of these interactions, with the intent of finding out if there is a definitive answer, and gathering information about what would be a reasonable/practical ruling that others have made at their tables if there isn’t.

The 14th-level School of Illusion wizard feature, Illusory Reality, can make one object in an illusion spell real for one minute (PHB, p. 118):

When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your turn as a bonus action while the spell is ongoing. The object remains real for 1 minute. For example, you can create an illusion of a bridge over a chasm and then make it real long enough for your allies to cross.

The object can’t deal damage or otherwise directly harm anyone.

Although the intent is that you can only use this feature on one object per illusion spell, this answer suggests you can use it multiple times on the same object while the spell persists.

But what exactly does “one object” mean, in the context of the 6th-level School of Illusion wizard feature, Malleable Illusions (PHB, p.118)?

Starting at 6th level, when you cast an illusion spell that has a duration of 1 minute or longer, you can use your action to change the nature of that illusion (using the spell’s normal parameters for the illusion), provided that you can see the illusion.

With Malleable Illusions, you can change an object in an illusion into another object, into a creature, or into something else (like graffiti on a wall).

This answer suggests that if you did so to an object made real with Illusory Reality, the changed object would remain real.

So: it seems like you might be able to make your “one object” real multiple times, while using Malleable Illusions to change it to a different object each time (if you can’t alter objects made real with Illusory Reality using Malleable Illusions, just wait until they are illusions again before using MI).

Is this actually possible?

(Obviously you would still only ever be able to have one real object per illusion spell at any particular time.)

As an example, consider this sequence of events:

  1. Create an illusory sword (with a spell such as Major Image)
  2. Make the sword real with Illusory Reality
  3. Wait a minute for the sword to become illusory again (whether you can apply Malleable Illusions to an object made real by Illusory Reality, and thus skip this step, is the subject of this question)
  4. Alter the nature of the illusory sword to be an illusory lump of coal instead
  5. Try to apply Illusory Reality to make the coal real. Can this be done?

Awesome features of google current

Hello everyone,,
Google has released its new Currents app for Android devices and iOS. The universal app offers a personalized news experience in a magazine-like format.
Google Currents contains three https://tutuapp.uno/ “editions,” including Publisher https://vidmate.vet/, Google trending, and favorites.

The Google Trending edition offers the five most recent trending stories in multiple categories such as world, entertainment and sports. Finally, your favorite blogs and feeds are…

Awesome features of google current

Do Ability Score Limits permanently change from features that change it? [duplicate]

This question already has an answer here:

  • Can you ever use an ASI to increase an Ability Score above 20? 2 answers

In D&D 5E, there are multiple different ways to increase ones Ability Score permanently, for example, like the Ability Score Increase and Primal Champion (Barbarian Capstone) class features, or the various manuals/tomes magic items (e.g. Manual of Gainful Exercise). For the examples provided, all of these methods specify the maximum limit for which an Ability Score can reach:

  • Ability Score Increase increases an Ability Score by 2 up to a limit of 20
  • Primal Champion increases Strength/Constitution by 4 up to a limit of 24
  • Manual of Gainful Exercise increases Strength by 2 and the limit by 2

For a hypothetical scenario, I’m playing a Barbarian with 18 Strength, and my character reads the Manual of Gainful Exercise which increases my Strength to 20. Am I able to increase my Strength beyond 20 from an Ability Score Increase due to the Manual of Gainful Exercise increasing my Ability Score limit by 2, or does the Ability Score Increase feature override this limit to be 20, thus not being able to increase my Strength in this matter?

Can a polymorphed creature use class features that don’t require speech or hand gestures?

The Polymorph spell states (in part):

The target’s game statistics, including mental ability scores, are replaced by the statistics of the chosen beast. It retains its alignment and personality.

The creature is limited in actions it can perform by the nature of its new form, and it can’t speak, cast spells, or take any other action that requires hands, or speech.

So, can a polymorphed Paladin use their Divine Smite class feature? It expends a spell slot, but it is not a spell, and as far as we can tell does not require hands or speech.

We know (based on the 10th level Transmutation Wizard feature) that a wizard is supposed to be able to polymorph herself, and we can assume that she is also supposed to be able to maintain concentration needed to stay in the new form (otherwise it would be a pretty useless ability). This is (as far as I can tell) not something any of the beasts eligible as polymorph targets can normally do. So it is clear that the polymorphed creature maintains some abilities from her old form. The question is which ones.

The Druid’s Wild Shape ability explicitly says you can use class features, while Polymorph does not, suggesting that you can’t use class features while polymorphed. However, Wild Shape also explicitly says that you can continue to concentrate on a spell (see below, emphasis mine), and Polymorph does not, yet we believe that a polymorphed creature can continue to concentrate on the polymorph spell. So the fact that Wild Shape explicitly allows something and Polymorph is not explicit about it does not necessarily mean that the polymorphed creature cannot do those things.

From Wild Shape rules:

You can’t cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form. Transforming doesn’t break your concentration on a spell you’ve already cast, however, or prevent you from taking actions that are part of a spell, such as call lightning, that you’ve already cast.

So, since Polymorph is silent on the question of whether or not class abilities can be used, and states only that the polymorphed creature cannot perform actions that require hands or speech, how can we best determine whether (RAI) polymorphed creatures maintain any of their old abilities beyond spell concentration?