How many attacks can I make with Sudden Charge?

Braun is a young Dwarf Barbarian. He uses Sudden Charge to get to the Kobold.

With a quick sprint, you dash up to your foe and swing. Stride twice. If you end your movement within melee reach of at least one enemy, you can make a melee Strike against that enemy.

From what I understood, Braun could move 50ft and attack with a single action. He could then do 2 more attacks with his other 2 actions (for a total of 3 attacks). My table ruled that I could only do 2 total attacks. I don’t understand why, and .

If a Strike is always an action, what’s the point of saying "If you end your movement within melee reach of at least one enemy, you can make a melee Strike against that enemy"?

How can I have low-level 5e necromancer NPCs controlling many, many undead in this converted adventure?

I require as close to a RAW answer as possible for ~Level 5 Wizard(s) to control ~100 skeletons and zombies.

Context: I’m adapting a few classics for older editions to D&D 5e, and running into issues for which I need RAW solutions. I could just hand wave it away but my own DM does that sort of thing and I am very much a proponent of what I call the Goose and Gander argument for players and NPCs: essentially, (with a few exceptions) if the bad guy can do it then so can the players, given enough time and resources. So handwaving the NPCs’ abilities doesn’t work for my campaign.

The AD&D 2e adventure Return to the Keep on the Borderlands has a Necromancer and several large groups of skeletons and zombies, but there is no possible way that the denizens of the temple could maintain control of so many for what they are utilized.

All told there seems to be ~100 skeletons and zombies that are described as being controlled, i.e. they have tasks they are performing when encountered. The module only describes a single caster that would be capable of casting Animate Dead and it is a 5th Level Wizard (Necromancer) there are a handful of lvl 3 Clerics in there as well. This technically would not have worked even in 2nd edition RAW since Animate Dead was 5th level for Wizards. I would however like to have at least a modicum of a better explanation than “Well, that’s what was written in the module.”

Therefore, is there something out of all the books that I am missing that could justify a small, essentially low level temple having so many controlled undead?

Immediate thoughts would be replacing some of them with constructs. Given the nature of the temple Scarecrows are the obvious choice and would be controlled indefinitely. I did see some ideas about converting the Bone Golem from previous editions — the problem with that is it changes the focus from Necromancy to Conjuration (as Scarecrows are bound spirits), which is not really desirable nor as interesting a threat to the good NPC side.

I also thought of scrolls but they are limited and would need to be replenished somehow from a higher level wizard that can make them. This option would require many scrolls, possibly dozens, per day if the existing casters capable of scribing them were to be the ones creating them.

I don’t see a way of doing this without a custom magic item, something akin to the 3.0 whistle from Sunless Citadel.

How many times do you roll damage for Chain Lighting?

Chain Lightning has the following description:

You create a bolt of lightning that arcs toward a target of your choice that you can see within range. Three bolts then leap from that target to as many as three other targets, each of which must be within 30 feet of the first target.

The rules for damage rolls state:

If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage once for all of them. For example, when a wizard casts fireball or a cleric casts flame strike, the spell’s damage is rolled once for all creatures caught in the blast.

Assuming four available targets which of the following is correct?

  • Roll once for damage for all of the targets
  • Roll twice for damage, once for the first target, and once for the three subsidiary targets.
  • Roll damage separately for each targets

How many dice does the GM roll when challenging the players?

I’d like to run a game of Roll for Shoes, but I’m not sure how many dice I roll when the characters face various challenges.

I’m under the impression that it’s supposed to be the same number of dice the character uses, but that seems to make impossible tasks far too easy to perform.

Is there a general rule saying how many dice the GM rolls against a character’s attempt at a given task? Should the GM’s dice equal the character’s dice, or should the GM’s dice vary depending on the task’s difficulty?

How many hit points does a bedroll have?

The PCs are battling a bat swarm, and lit a bedroll on fire and are trying to chase the swarm away by floating the burning bedroll at the swarm with mage hand.

The bedroll will take 1d6 fire damage each turn, but I can’t find how many hitpoints a bedroll would have (in this case, sized for a halfling). Let’s assume the bedroll is still rolled up, and not spread out.

Rope/cloth has 2 hp per inch of thickness: I guess it’s kind of a GM call?

Edit: a simple google search gives this choice as one of it’s first results. It has a long and short option. If we take the rolled width of the short bedroll (for a halfling), it’s width is 8 inches. At 2 hp/inch, that gives it 16 hp total. That sounds reasonable enough, I suppose. Depending on the fire damage rolls, that’s at least 3 rounds.

How many spell points does using an Admixture feat actually cost?

When applying the Admixture talent and an Admixture feat to a destructive blast from the Destruction sphere, how many spell points does it actually cost?

For example, if I apply a Morphic Admixture, how many points am I spending? Assuming I do not spend any points to extend the shapeshift’s duration.

It confuses me because both the talent and the feats cost a point, but the feats replace part of the talent’s effects, raising the question whether you spend 1 point or 2 points.

This uses the versions following Ultimate Spheres of Power.

Admixture Talent from Destruction Sphere

Admixture

You may either increase the casting time of your destructive blast by one step or spend an additional spell point to apply two (blast type) talents instead of 1. The resultant blast does half of its damage of each type and any additional effects of the blast types are applied normally. If the die size for the two blasts are d8 and d6, use d8; if d8 and d4 use d6; if d6 and d4, use d4. If two blast types have different caster levels, then use the lower caster level for determining the admixtured blast’s caster level.

Special: You do not increase the casting time or spend an additional spell point when using the Admixture talent with two blast types from the same blast type group.

Admixture Feat Rules

Admixture feats grant new ways to utilize the Admixture talent (from the Destruction sphere), adding abilities from other spheres to your destructive blast. All admixture feats replace the second blast talent you would normally apply, with the resulting destructive blast dealing normal blast damage in addition to the effect outlined in the feat. Any additional costs incurred by the additional effect must be paid as normal. If your caster level is different for the two spheres, the destructive blast is governed by your caster level for the relevant blast type and the additional effect is governed by your caster level for the appropriate ability.

Morphic Admixture Feat

Morphic Admixture (Admixture)

Prerequisites: Alteration sphere, Destruction sphere (Admixture).

Benefit: When using Admixture, you may spend an additional spell point to have a single creature that takes damage save against a hostile shapeshift. If you possess the Mass Alteration talent, you may apply the hostile shapeshift to all targets damaged, up to your maximum targets from Mass Alteration.

Is it possible to have many people using aid another use craft to earn a lot per week?

One of my players is trying to find loopholes to make lots of money without having to work. His latest idea is as follows:

  • Get a ton of low-to-mid-level NPCs willing (or “willing”) to waste a lot of their time.
  • Ensure that all of them have ranks in Craft (books) (any other craft skill will work as well), whether by training them or using a headband of vast intelligence. The player in question is absurdly good at crafting items, so supplying these guys with a crate full of headbands isn’t a massive roadblock.
  • Have one of them “practice [his] trade and make a decent living, earning half [his] check result in gold pieces per week of dedicated work.”.
  • Have the rest of them (say, 100 others) use aid another to give him a +2 on his check each. Assume that they’re guaranteed to succeed, by combining ranks and possibly skill focus.
  • The main crafter gets about +200 on his craft check, which he probably gets around a 15 on.
  • The main crafter makes about 108 gp.

The amount of gold you can make on this is directly proportional to how many NPCs you get ahold of:

  • 100 NPCs: ~108 gp
  • 150 NPCs: ~158 gp
  • 200 NPCs: ~208 gp

With 100 guys working away, he can make ~5,635 gp/year without doing anything. He can probably convince them not to need any money, whether by dominating them or being very charismatic or some other means of convincing them to spend their lives making money for him.

I can’t really think of a reason why he shouldn’t be able to do this, given that all he’s really done is invent massive sweatshops, but I would like to ensure that there’s nothing disallowing it.

How many horns can be fired from Alicorn Lance during its duration?

I am somewhat confused by the wording of Alicorn Lance as stated in Elminster’s Guide to Magic. The text states:

Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute

A transparent alicorn (unicorn horn) forms about 2 inches from your brow. Starting the turn you cast this spell, for the duration you can use a bonus action during each of your turns to launch the horn at a creature you can see within range.

I am confused about the supposed contradiction between "during each of your turns" and "launch the horn".

Does it return between launches? Does it reappear? Does it ever leave your head in the first place?

Can you launch a new horn each round?

Or is it just a single-shot effect that you can use on one bonus action that occurs during the spells duration?

How many people fit into a 10 foot by 10 foot space [duplicate]

D&D rules proclaim ONE (1) medium creature uses 5’x5′ – in combat. Thus a 20’x20′ room holds 16 people, max. There are some interesting combat rules for ‘squeezing’ for ONE exceptional creature.

Please note, in reality 16 living people also fit into a small car. In fact, according to these rules, only 2000 people could fit into an 80 000 person football stadium. It would be good, valuable & reasonable to know how medium sized creatures fit when squeezed, out of combat or otherwise.


1. Are there ANY 5e D&D rules, offical tweets, UA suggestions &/or other stuff, optional or otherwise, for how many people fit, tightly-squeezed / maximum, into a given space?

SHOULD THE ABOVE FAIL:

2. Does ANY OTHER rule system have any suggestions on humanoid / spacing / out-of-combat?

SHOULD BOTH OF THE ABOVE FAIL:

3 Anyone with grasp of ‘physics’ &/or ‘how people fit together’… or ANY OTHER SOURCE… have ANY suggestions for how many people can typically pile into a space?


Reason for asking: Many creatures do not respect social space. Example: zombies – how many could pile into a 10×10 foot room just by walking in? ‘Obviously more than four’ is obviously correct but still not a useful answer.